Directory / SIG SAUER / 9x19mm Parabellum / P229 / P229 Nitron Compact
Entry 92 of 100Submit a correction
compact handgun

SIG SAUER P229 Nitron Compact

SIG SAUER lists the P229 Nitron Compact as a double-action/single-action 9mm Luger pistol with a 3.9 in carbon steel barrel, a Nitron-finished stainless slide on a hard-coat anodized alloy frame, SIGLITE night sights and an E2 grip, in a California-compliant configuration with 10-round magazines.

Scope note: READ THE CAPACITY CAVEAT BEFORE USING THIS RECORD — it is the P226 Nitron Full-Size's caveat, repeated.
Show the full noteHide the full note

SIG's P229 Nitron page lists exactly ONE catalogue number, 229R-9-BSS-CA, whose STATE COMPLIANT cell reads "California", which ships with two 10-round magazines, and whose visible heading reads "P229 NITRON CALIFORNIA" (the page title reads "SIG P229 Compact Nitron 9mm Pistol"; the P226 page's heading also reads "P226 NITRON CALIFORNIA", which that record does not mention). This record says 10 because that is the only configuration SIG publishes on the page; it is not a statement that a P229 holds ten rounds — the same page's related products sell P229-1 9mm 15-round flush-fit magazines — and the dimensions, weight, sights, finish and trigger action are properties of the pistol that the magazine restriction does not touch. WHY THIS LISTING AS THE BASE: the brief was the base Nitron, and this is the only Nitron P229 SIG lists. SIG's P229 category page (capture 2026-07-28) shows the P229 Elite, P229 Legion and M11-A1 and no Nitron at all, so the Nitron now appears to survive only as this California listing; the Elite (p229-elite-compact), Legion (p229-legion-compact, plus the Legion Compact DQ) and M11-A1 (p229-m11-a1-compact) are separate records under the base-model rule and none of their values is used here. The older slug p229-nitron-compact.html was checked too: its last capture (2021-04-06) listed only 229R-9-BSS-CA and a Massachusetts SKU, 229RM-9-BSS, both with 10-round magazines, so SIG has not listed an unrestricted Nitron P229 on either slug in any capture read. That 2021 capture agrees with this one on every measurement, printing 99 mm and 975 g where the current page prints 99.06 mm and 975.2 g for the same 3.9 in and 34.4 oz — metric rounding, not a conflict. THE PRODUCT PAGE IS A WEB ARCHIVE CAPTURE (p229-nitron-compact-2.html, 2026-04-22, the most recent capture the archive would serve) because every sigsauer.com product page returned a Cloudflare challenge on 2026-09-30, which this directory does not attempt to defeat; the capture was content-checked (page_type "product", one-row SKU grid). SIG publishes both unit systems, so nothing is converted. Size class: SIG's PISTOL SIZE column reads "Compact", the directory's own word, so frameSize is compact and manufacturerSizeLabel is deliberately unset under rule 6. Series: P229 is not a value in the Family union and adding one is a user decision, so family is unset for that reason, not because SIG publishes none. TRIGGER ACTION reads "Double Action / Single Action (DA/SA)", a trigger mode, so it normalizes to da/sa as on the P226. Ignition and operating system are unset: the page never uses the words hammer, decock, short recoil or locked breech, it links no owner's manual, and guessing a SIG manual URL is unsafe (sigsauer.com/media/ answers a missing file with HTTP 200 and a JPEG). TRIGGER PULL IS UNRECORDED, and for a DA/SA pistol that matters: SIG publishes neither the double-action nor the single-action figure, and recording one without the other, or either unlabeled, would be the error the list-of-labeled-pulls shape exists to prevent. Height and weight carry basis notes because SIG states no magazine state. Year introduced is unrecorded: SIG's company history page (Web Archive capture of sigsauer.com/company/history/, 2021-05-11) says "In 1992, SIG began production of the P229® in .40 S&W" — a production start, in a different chambering, which dates neither this 9mm configuration nor an introduction, so it was not recorded (the Ruger LCP MAX introDate rule). The warranty is SIG's Infinite Guarantee, stated on the product page itself. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 5.7 in / 145 mm sight radius, a stainless steel slide, a carbon steel barrel, a hard-coat anodized alloy frame, an E2 grip and a $1,019.99 price.

Reference fields

ManufacturerSIG SAUER[1]
Manufacturer seriesP229
Firearm categoryHandgun[1]
Manufacturer chambering9mm Luger[1]
GenerationNot yet verified
Manufacturer listingListed on SIG SAUER as SKU 229R-9-BSS-CA, the California-compliant configuration and the only catalogue number on the page[1]
Trigger actionDouble-action / single-action[1]
Slide finishNitron[1]
ControlsSIGLITE night sights; standard curved trigger; no manual safety; E2 grip on a hard-coat anodized alloy frame; SIG accessory rail[1]
WarrantySIG SAUER Infinite Guarantee: fully transferable and unlimited in duration, with no receipts or warranty cards required[1]
MSRPNot recorded
Verification boundary: Published technical data are rounded, may not reflect manufacturing tolerances, and may change without notice. MSRP is not recorded: most cited product pages do publish a price, but it changes without notice and independently of the specification, so this directory has no field for it and the row stays blank rather than carrying a figure that would silently go stale.
Evidence tiers backing this record: Manufacturer. Unmarked values come from manufacturer documentation; any value drawn from a lower tier is labeled inline with that tier. Where two sources disagreed, the higher tier was recorded and the disagreement noted.

Sources

  1. [1]Accessed 2026-09-30 · Captured 2026-04-22 from https://www.sigsauer.com/p229-nitron-compact-2.html

Common questions

Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.

01What caliber is the SIG SAUER P229 Nitron Compact?

The SIG SAUER P229 Nitron Compact is chambered in 9x19mm Parabellum. SIG SAUER writes it as 9mm Luger. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.

02How many rounds does the SIG SAUER P229 Nitron Compact hold?

SIG SAUER lists a 10-round standard magazine for the P229 Nitron Compact. SIG SAUER lists no optional capacities for this record. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.

03What is the barrel length of the SIG SAUER P229 Nitron Compact?

SIG SAUER lists a barrel length of 99.06 mm / 3.9 in.

04What are the dimensions of the SIG SAUER P229 Nitron Compact?

SIG SAUER publishes 180 × 38 × 137 mm / 7.1 × 1.5 × 5.4 in (height: magazine state not stated by SIG SAUER). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.

05How much does the SIG SAUER P229 Nitron Compact weigh?

SIG SAUER publishes 975.2 g / 34.4 oz (magazine state not stated by SIG SAUER).

06What size class is the SIG SAUER P229 Nitron Compact?

This directory records the P229 Nitron Compact in its compact frame class. That is the directory's own normalization rather than a manufacturer label.

07Is the SIG SAUER P229 Nitron Compact striker-fired?

SIG SAUER publishes "Double Action / Single Action (DA/SA)" as its own name for the action and does not classify an ignition type for the P229 Nitron Compact. This directory records the manufacturer's wording and leaves the ignition field empty rather than inferring a classification the source does not state.

08Does the SIG SAUER P229 Nitron Compact have a warranty?

SIG SAUER states: SIG SAUER Infinite Guarantee: fully transferable and unlimited in duration, with no receipts or warranty cards required. Terms are as published at the date this record was checked and may vary by region.