SIG SAUER P226 Nitron Full-Size
SIG SAUER lists the P226 Nitron Full-Size as a double-action/single-action 9mm Luger pistol with a 4.4 in carbon steel barrel, a Nitron-finished stainless slide on a hard-coat anodized alloy frame, SIGLITE night sights and an E2 grip.
Show the full noteHide the full note
SIG's P226 Nitron Full-Size page currently lists exactly ONE catalogue number — 226R-9-BSS-CA — whose STATE COMPLIANT cell reads "California" and which ships with two 10-round magazines. The P226 is a 15-round pistol by reputation, and this record says 10 because that is the only configuration SIG publishes on that page; it is NOT the P226's traditional capacity, and nothing here should be read as SIG stating that a P226 holds ten rounds. The page was checked for other SKUs rather than assumed: it carries 64 sku-item cells, which is 32 headers and exactly one data row, and the other SKU-shaped strings on it (226-9-10, 226-9-15, 226-9-20) are magazine part numbers sold as accessories, not pistol catalogue numbers. Every other value on this record — the dimensions, weight, sights, finishes and trigger action — is a property of the pistol rather than of its magazines, and is unaffected by which magazine ships in the box. The P226 Legion listings (226RM-9-LEGION and 226RM-9-LEGION-SAO) are separate records under the base-model rule, and note they too are listed with 10-round magazines, so this is a pattern across SIG's current P226 catalogue rather than a quirk of one SKU. THIS IS THE FIRST SIG RECORD WHOSE TRIGGER ACTION COLUMN ACTUALLY CONTAINS A TRIGGER ACTION. The P365 and P320 pages both put "Striker" under a heading reading TRIGGER ACTION, which is an ignition fact in a trigger-mode column and is why both records leave triggerAction unset; this page reads "Double Action / Single Action (DA/SA)", which is a trigger mode, so it normalizes to da/sa and SIG's wording is kept verbatim. Ignition and operating system are unset: the P226 is a hammer-fired short-recoil pistol and SIG states neither, the page never uses the words hammer, decock, short recoil or locked breech, and no manual is reachable to settle it. A SOFT-404 SHAPE WORTH KNOWING BEFORE GUESSING ANY SIG DOCUMENT URL: sigsauer.com/media/… returns HTTP 200 with a JPEG for a resource that does not exist. A guessed manual URL therefore "succeeded" at 4,972 bytes and was an image; checking the magic bytes is what caught it, not the status code. SIG's /manuals and /support/manuals are ordinary 404s. Both unit systems are published, as on the P365, so nothing on this record is converted — SIG's metric figures look like its own conversions (4.4 in is exactly 111.76 mm while 7.7 in is rounded to 196 mm) but they are the manufacturer's published numbers. Height and weight carry basis notes because SIG states neither's magazine state; contrast the P320, whose weight SIG does qualify as "w/ Magazine". Trigger pull is unrecorded — SIG publishes no figure for any of its three pistols in this directory. Year introduced is unrecorded: the P226 dates to the 1980s and SIG's press index is behind a challenge this project does not attempt. Warranty is SIG's Infinite Guarantee, stated on the product page itself rather than a separate warranty page, so the row cites the product source, exactly as the P365 record does. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 6.3 in / 160 mm sight radius, a stainless steel slide, a carbon steel barrel, a hard-coat anodized alloy frame, an E2 grip and a SIG accessory rail.
Reference fields
| Manufacturer | SIG SAUER[1] |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer series | P226 |
| Firearm category | Handgun[1] |
| Manufacturer chambering | 9mm Luger[1] |
| Generation | Not yet verified |
| Manufacturer size class | Full-Size[1] |
| Manufacturer listing | Listed on SIG SAUER as SKU 226R-9-BSS-CA, the California-compliant configuration and the only catalogue number on the page[1] |
| Trigger action | Double-action / single-action[1] |
| Slide finish | Nitron[1] |
| Controls | SIGLITE night sights; standard curved trigger; E2 grip on a hard-coat anodized alloy frame; SIG accessory rail[1] |
| Warranty | SIG SAUER Infinite Guarantee: fully transferable and unlimited in duration, with no receipts or warranty cards required[1] |
| MSRP | Not recorded |
Sources
- [1]P226 Nitron Full-Size — specifications and Infinite Guarantee (SKU 226R-9-BSS-CA)Manufacturer Manufacturer product pageAccessed 2026-08-12
Common questions
Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.
01What caliber is the SIG SAUER P226 Nitron Full-Size?
The SIG SAUER P226 Nitron Full-Size is chambered in 9x19mm Parabellum. SIG SAUER writes it as 9mm Luger. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.
02How many rounds does the SIG SAUER P226 Nitron Full-Size hold?
SIG SAUER lists a 10-round standard magazine for the P226 Nitron Full-Size. SIG SAUER lists no optional capacities for this record. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.
03What is the barrel length of the SIG SAUER P226 Nitron Full-Size?
SIG SAUER lists a barrel length of 111.76 mm / 4.4 in.
04What are the dimensions of the SIG SAUER P226 Nitron Full-Size?
SIG SAUER publishes 196 × 38 × 140 mm / 7.7 × 1.5 × 5.5 in (height: magazine state not stated by SIG SAUER). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.
05How much does the SIG SAUER P226 Nitron Full-Size weigh?
SIG SAUER publishes 964 g / 34 oz (magazine state not stated by SIG SAUER).
06What size class is the SIG SAUER P226 Nitron Full-Size?
SIG SAUER lists the P226 Nitron Full-Size as Full-Size, and this directory records the same class.
07Is the SIG SAUER P226 Nitron Full-Size striker-fired?
SIG SAUER publishes "Double Action / Single Action (DA/SA)" as its own name for the action and does not classify an ignition type for the P226 Nitron Full-Size. This directory records the manufacturer's wording and leaves the ignition field empty rather than inferring a classification the source does not state.
08Does the SIG SAUER P226 Nitron Full-Size have a warranty?
SIG SAUER states: SIG SAUER Infinite Guarantee: fully transferable and unlimited in duration, with no receipts or warranty cards required. Terms are as published at the date this record was checked and may vary by region.