Walther PPQ M2 4"
Walther listed the PPQ M2 4" as a striker-fired 9 mm pistol with a 15-round magazine, a 5.6 lb trigger pull, an ambidextrous slide stop, a reversible button magazine release and polymer white-dot sights; the listing survives only as a Web Archive capture of Walther's own page.
Show the full noteHide the full note
THIS IS AN ARCHIVED RECORD OF A PRODUCT WALTHER NO LONGER CATALOGUES ON ITS SITE — the Colt Government kind, not the HK VP9 kind. waltherarms.com lists no PPQ pistol today: its sitemap (declared in robots.txt) carries the word only in magazine, parts and holster listings, /defense/ppq and /defense/ppq-m2 return real 404s, and the page this record is sourced from, /defense-featured/ppq-m2-8/, now redirects to the /defense/ category. The Web Archive holds 29 HTTP-200 captures of that page from 2019-09-23 to 2023-12-04 and only redirects from 2024-05-17 on; the most recent 200 capture was used and its content checked (a WordPress product page, not a challenge or a wrapper). This record makes NO claim about production status either way — the G37/G38/G39 rule — only that Walther's site no longer lists the model. Re-verify against a newer capture if one appears, or against the live site if Walther re-lists it. THE SPECIFICATION BLOCK IS A POSITIONAL GRID, AND THE MAPPING WAS CHECKED. Walther printed fourteen labels in one column (MODEL, CALIBER, BARREL LENGTH, TRIGGER PULL, TRIGGER TRAVEL, CAPACITY, OVERALL LENGTH, HEIGHT, SAFETY, WIDTH, WEIGHT EMPTY, MAG QTY, REAR SIGHT, FRONT SIGHT) and fourteen values in the next (2796066, 9MM, 4″, 5.6 LBS, 0.4″, 15 RDS, 7.1″, 5.3″, 3 AUTO, 1.3″, 24.5 OZ, 2, POLYMER WHITE DOT, POLYMER WHITE DOT), each a `<br>`-separated paragraph, so the counts match. The column was then checked against a sibling where values must differ: the archived "PPQ M2 | 4″ XS Night Sights" page (model 2796066TNS, captured 2023-12-08) prints the same measurements under its own model number and has no sight rows, while this page's rows name polymer white-dot sights — the model number lands first and the sights last on both, so the grid is not shifted. Separate listings under the base-model rule: the models in the page's OPTIONS block — the 4 in XS Night Sights, Tungsten, OD Green, FDE and Coyote models, the 5 in PPQ M2, the .40 S&W PPQ M2, and the PPQ M1 in 4 in and 5 in — and the PPQ Navy, PPQ 22, PPQ 45 and PPQ Sub-Compact, which Walther catalogued on pages of their own. Walther's 2022 Product Catalog was checked for corroboration and cannot give any: its PPQ pages carry the Sub-Compact, 22, 45 and 45 SD and no PPQ M2 9 mm column, and model 2796066 appears nowhere in it. That is recorded as a fact about the catalogue, not as evidence about production. IGNITION IS striker-fired, AND IT IS FOOTNOTED TO THE OWNER'S MANUAL, NOT TO THE PRODUCT PAGE. The page's only use of the word is that the trigger "is known as the best striker-fired trigger by nearly every critic" — a claim about reputation, attributed to critics, which this directory would not record on its own. Walther's PPQ M-Series manual, whose file is named for this model number ("PPQ-M2-Manual-2796066-and-PPQ-M2-Navy-2815249.pdf"), states it directly in its product description: "The Police Pistol Quick Defense (PPQ) is a striker fired semi-automatic pistol with constant trigger pull" (p. 11). Trigger action is unset: "constant trigger pull" describes the pull's consistency, not a trigger mode, and the page and manual classify none. Operating system is unset: neither document states one. The manual carries no specification table, so it corroborates nothing numeric. It also contains a copy error of its own — its shipping section (p. 34) refers to "the Q5 Match pistol" — which touches no recorded value. WEIGHT IS FILED UNDER weightUnloaded: Walther's label is "WEIGHT EMPTY", which says the pistol is unloaded but not whether a magazine is fitted, the one question that decides between the weight fields. Overall height carries the same basis note. Capacity is 15, the only figure the page publishes; it ships two magazines. "SAFETY: 3 AUTO" (three automatic safeties) has no schema field. Frame class is unset: Walther published no size class for this model. Year introduced is unrecorded: neither document gives one. WARRANTY IS UNRECORDED ON PURPOSE. The manual's warranty section (p. 33) is Walther's Legendary Lifetime Limited Warranty and, like the current web page, "does not cover firearms that have been discontinued" and covers "only firearms currently produced and supported by WALTHER". Whether that condition is met is a production-status question this directory does not answer, so recording the warranty would assert coverage the directory cannot stand behind. Walther published imperial only, so every metric value here is converted by this directory and flagged. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 0.4 in trigger travel, three automatic safeties, polymer white-dot front and rear sights, interchangeable backstraps, an ambidextrous slide stop and a reversible button magazine release.
Reference fields
| Manufacturer | Walther[1] |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer series | PPQ |
| Firearm category | Handgun[1] |
| Manufacturer chambering | 9MM[1] |
| Generation | Not yet verified |
| Manufacturer listing | Listed on Walther Arms as model 2796066 (archived listing; no longer catalogued on waltherarms.com as of 2026-09-30)[1] |
| Ignition | Striker-fired[2] |
| Slide finish | Not yet verified |
| Controls | Ambidextrous slide stop; reversible button-style magazine release; interchangeable backstraps; polymer white-dot front and rear sights; two magazines supplied[1] |
| Warranty | Not yet verified |
| MSRP | Not recorded |
Sources
- [1]PPQ M2 | 4″ — specifications (model 2796066), as published at captureManufacturer Manufacturer product page · Web Archive captureAccessed 2026-09-30 · Captured 2023-12-04 from https://waltherarms.com/defense-featured/ppq-m2-8/
- [2]PPQ M-Series Pistols Safety & Instruction Manual (file named for models 2796066 and 2815249), p. 11: "a striker fired semi-automatic pistol with constant trigger pull"Manufacturer Owner's manual · Web Archive captureAccessed 2026-09-30 · Captured 2022-12-07 from https://waltherarms.com/manuals/PPQ-M2-Manual-2796066-and-PPQ-M2-Navy-2815249.pdf
Common questions
Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.
01What caliber is the Walther PPQ M2 4"?
The Walther PPQ M2 4" is chambered in 9x19mm Parabellum. Walther writes it as 9MM. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.
02How many rounds does the Walther PPQ M2 4" hold?
Walther lists a 15-round standard magazine for the PPQ M2 4". Walther lists no optional capacities for this record. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.
03What is the barrel length of the Walther PPQ M2 4"?
Walther lists a barrel length of ≈101.6 mm / 4 in.
04What are the dimensions of the Walther PPQ M2 4"?
Walther publishes ≈180.3 × 33 × 134.6 mm / 7.1 × 1.3 × 5.3 in (height: magazine state not stated by Walther). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.
05How much does the Walther PPQ M2 4" weigh?
Walther publishes ≈695 g / 24.5 oz (Walther's label: "Weight empty"; magazine state not stated).
06Is the Walther PPQ M2 4" striker-fired?
Striker-fired. This is recorded from the manufacturer's own classification rather than inferred from the mechanism.
07What is the trigger pull on the Walther PPQ M2 4"?
Walther lists ≈24.9 N / 5.6 lb. A published figure is a specification rather than a measurement of any individual firearm.