Side-by-side · Manufacturer-published fields only

SIG SAUER P365-XL vs Smith & Wesson M&P 9 Shield Plus

Both are 9x19mm Parabellum micro-compact records in this directory. The P365-XL is 13 mm / 0.5 in longer overall; its barrel is 14.98 mm / 0.6 in longer; the M&P 9 Shield Plus lists 1 round more of standard capacity. 2 fields are not comparable — overall height, weight — because the makers publish them on different measurement bases.

Computed differences06
FieldDifference
Overall length13 mm / 0.5 in (P365-XL is greater)
Overall widthNot published by both
Overall heightNot comparable — P365-XL: magazine state not stated by SIG SAUER; M&P 9 Shield Plus: no basis stated
Barrel length14.98 mm / 0.6 in (P365-XL is greater)
WeightNot comparable — P365-XL: magazine state not stated on SIG SAUER's product page; its 2019 launch release gives the same 20.7 oz as "Incl. magazine"; M&P 9 Shield Plus: Smith & Wesson states no magazine basis; it publishes magazine weights separately, as 2.6 oz for the 13-round and 2.2 oz for the 10-round
Standard capacity1 round (M&P 9 Shield Plus is greater)
How these differences are computed: each is the arithmetic difference between the two published figures, and it is only shown where both sources measured the field the same way. Where a source states a measurement basis the other does not match, the row says so instead of subtracting — figures on different bases are not comparable even when the numbers sit side by side.
Size, to scale
To-scale size envelopes: P365-XL vs M&P 9 Shield PlusBoxes drawn from published overall dimensions at one scale, aligned at the rear. SIG SAUER P365-XL: 168 mm long; Smith & Wesson M&P 9 Shield Plus: 155 mm long.050 mm100 mm150 mmLengthP365-XL is 13 mm longer
  • SIG SAUER P365-XLLength 168 mm / 6.6 in
  • Smith & Wesson M&P 9 Shield PlusLength 155 mm / 6.1 in
Boxes, not silhouettes: makers publish a pistol's overall envelope, not its shape, so that is all this draws. Every box is aligned at the rear and drawn at one fixed scale, the same on every page of this site, so drawings compare across pages. It is not life-size on your screen. Heights are not drawn because the heights are not published on one stated basis (P365-XL: magazine state not stated by SIG SAUER; M&P 9 Shield Plus: no basis stated). Widths are not drawn because M&P 9 Shield Plus publishes no overall width.
Published fields, side by side
FieldP365-XLM&P 9 Shield Plus
ManufacturerSIG SAUERSmith & Wesson
Manufacturer size labelMicro-CompactMicro-Compact
Directory frame classMicro-compactMicro-compact
Chambering9x19mm Parabellum9x19mm Parabellum
Overall dimensions168 × 28 × 122 mm / 6.6 × 1.1 × 4.8 in (height: magazine state not stated by SIG SAUER)length 155, height 117 mm / length 6.1, height 4.6 in (width not published)
Barrel length93.98 mm / 3.7 in79 mm / 3.1 in
Weight586.8 g / 20.7 oz (magazine state not stated on SIG SAUER's product page; its 2019 launch release gives the same 20.7 oz as "Incl. magazine")507.5 g / 17.9 oz (Smith & Wesson states no magazine basis; it publishes magazine weights separately, as 2.6 oz for the 13-round and 2.2 oz for the 10-round)
Standard capacity12 rounds13 rounds
VerificationSource verified 2026-09-30Source verified 2026-08-13
Reference information only. Not legal, purchasing, training, carry, storage, or assembly advice. Manufacturer technical data are rounded and may change without notice. Spotted an error? Submit a correction.