Directory / Taurus / .22 LR / TaurusTX / TaurusTX 22
Entry 34 of 70Submit a correction
full-size handgun

Taurus TaurusTX 22

Taurus lists the TaurusTX 22 as a single-action-only .22 LR pistol with a 4.10 in barrel, an aluminium slide, a 16-round magazine, and an adjustable white-dot rear sight.

Scope note: Taurus publishes the fullest specification set of any manufacturer in the directory, Glock included — it is the only one so far to publish a trigger mode.
Show the full noteHide the full note

Taurus prints "SAO"; the directory records that verbatim in `system` and normalizes it to the sao trigger action. Ignition is left unset: the page's safety row lists a striker block, which is an ignition fact on a different axis, but Taurus never states the ignition itself and reasoning across axes is not transcription. Note the pistol is striker-operated (its own safety row lists a striker block) yet Taurus classifies the action as single-action only; the directory follows the published label rather than reasoning from the mechanism, as it does for Glock's size-class conflicts. Sourced from the plain product URL, which the Glock unlabeled-page test treats as the primary listing; the specifics recorded here are those of item 1-TX22141O, whose frame finish is OD Green. Other finishes and the 10-round configurations are separate listings under the base-model rule, as is the TaurusTX 22 Competition — that variant's January 2021 announcement was checked and explicitly "builds on the original TaurusTX 22", so it is not this model's launch. No Taurus launch announcement for the base TX22 was found in the live post sitemap, which does not reach back to its introduction, so year introduced is unrecorded, following the G42, G43 and G44 precedent. CORRECTED 2026-08-13: THIS RECORD PREVIOUSLY SAID TAURUS PUBLISHES NO SIZE CLASS, AND THAT WAS A PARSER GAP REPORTED AS A FACT ABOUT THE MANUFACTURER. Taurus publishes a "Frame Size" specification row on this page reading "Full", and on every other Taurus page checked; `extract_taurus_specs.py` had never printed it. Its single label-and-value regex scanned the page non-overlapping, so the "Tech Specs" section heading matched, was discarded for having a long prose value, and consumed the Frame Size row immediately after it — filtering a match's output is not the same as bounding the scan. The extractor now bounds each value to the window before the next label, and re-running it against this page reproduced all sixteen values already recorded here unchanged while surfacing four more: the item number, Special Features, a clean Frame Material, and Frame Size. So `frameSize` is now full-size and the maker's one-word "Full" is kept in manufacturerSizeLabel. The lesson is the Springfield whitelist one exactly: a parser's output describes the parser as much as the page, and "the manufacturer publishes nothing" is the one conclusion it is least safe to draw from silence. Taurus publishes imperial only, so every metric value is converted and flagged. Weight is published as "17.30 Oz. (Unloaded)", which does not say whether a magazine is fitted, so it is recorded under weightUnloaded with that qualifier; overall height carries a basis note for the same reason. The warranty is model-specific rather than assumed: the TX22 is named explicitly in Taurus's list ("Taurus G2c, G2s, TH series, Taurus TX22, 1911 Commander..."), not merely present in the page's navigation. REFINED 2026-08-13 while recording the GX4 and G3c, neither of which appears in that list: it is a list of models MIGRATED from a one-year warranty, not the warranty's scope. The operative text below it warrants "the enclosed Taurus firearm" and states it is the only warranty Taurus extends covering that firearm, so the document scopes by class and being named in the list is not what makes a model covered — the Walther PPK reading. Nothing about this record changes; the reasoning behind it was narrower than the document. Taurus also publishes a 1:16 twist rate, an aluminium slide, an alloy-steel barrel, a matte-black barrel finish and two included magazines; none of these has a schema field and none is recorded.

Reference fields

ManufacturerTaurus[1]
Manufacturer seriesTaurusTX
Firearm categoryHandgun[1]
Manufacturer chambering22 LR[1]
GenerationNot yet verified
Manufacturer size classFull[1]
Manufacturer listingListed on Taurus USA as item 1-TX22141O[1]
Trigger actionSingle-action only[1]
Slide finishHard Anodized Black[1]
ControlsStriker block, trigger safety and manual safety; fixed white-dot front sight and adjustable white-dot rear sight[1]
WarrantyLimited Lifetime Warranty to the original purchaser, covering defects in material, function and workmanship for as long as that purchaser owns the firearm; finish, grips, magazines, sights and accessories are covered for the first year, and the warranty terminates on transfer[2]
MSRPNot recorded
Verification boundary: Published technical data are rounded, may not reflect manufacturing tolerances, and may change without notice. MSRP is not recorded: most cited product pages do publish a price, but it changes without notice and independently of the specification, so this directory has no field for it and the row stays blank rather than carrying a figure that would silently go stale. Values marked ≈ were converted by this directory from the unit system the source published; the unmarked figure in the same row is the published one.
Evidence tiers backing this record: Manufacturer. Unmarked values come from manufacturer documentation; any value drawn from a lower tier is labeled inline with that tier. Where two sources disagreed, the higher tier was recorded and the disagreement noted.

Sources

  1. [1]
    TaurusTX 22 — specifications (item 1-TX22141O)Manufacturer Manufacturer product page
    Accessed 2026-08-12
  2. [2]Accessed 2026-08-12

Common questions

Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.

01What caliber is the Taurus TaurusTX 22?

The Taurus TaurusTX 22 is chambered in .22 LR. Taurus writes it as 22 LR. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.

02How many rounds does the Taurus TaurusTX 22 hold?

Taurus lists a 16-round standard magazine for the TaurusTX 22. Taurus lists no optional capacities for this record. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.

03What is the barrel length of the Taurus TaurusTX 22?

Taurus lists a barrel length of ≈104.1 mm / 4.1 in.

04What are the dimensions of the Taurus TaurusTX 22?

Taurus publishes ≈179.3 × 31.8 × 138.2 mm / 7.06 × 1.25 × 5.44 in (height: magazine state not stated by Taurus). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.

05How much does the Taurus TaurusTX 22 weigh?

Taurus publishes ≈490 g / 17.3 oz (unloaded; magazine state not stated).

06What size class is the Taurus TaurusTX 22?

Taurus lists the TaurusTX 22 as Full. This directory normalizes that to its full-size frame class, so records from different makers can be grouped; the manufacturer's own wording is kept alongside it.

07Is the Taurus TaurusTX 22 striker-fired?

Taurus publishes "SAO" as its own name for the action and does not classify an ignition type for the TaurusTX 22. This directory records the manufacturer's wording and leaves the ignition field empty rather than inferring a classification the source does not state.

08Does the Taurus TaurusTX 22 have a warranty?

Taurus states: Limited Lifetime Warranty to the original purchaser, covering defects in material, function and workmanship for as long as that purchaser owns the firearm; finish, grips, magazines, sights and accessories are covered for the first year, and the warranty terminates on transfer. Terms are as published at the date this record was checked and may vary by region.