Taurus GX4
Taurus lists the GX4 as a micro-compact 9 mm pistol with a 3.06 in stainless barrel under a gas-nitride slide, a stainless frame with a polymer grip, fixed front and drift-adjustable rear sights, and an 11-round magazine.
Show the full noteHide the full note
THIS RECORD EXISTS BECAUSE A PARSER BUG WAS FIXED, AND THE FIX ALSO CORRECTED A SHIPPED RECORD — see the TaurusTX 22 notes. Taurus publishes a "Frame Size" specification row on every product page checked, and `extract_taurus_specs.py` had never printed it: its single label-and-value regex scanned the page non-overlapping, so the "Tech Specs" section heading matched, was discarded for having a long prose value, and consumed the Frame Size row that followed it. Filtering a match's OUTPUT is not the same as bounding the SCAN. The extractor now finds each label and looks for its value only in the window before the next label, which is the same one-row bound the SIG and Walther extractors already use. Taurus prints "Microcompact" as one word, which the directory normalizes to its micro-compact class — the same class the P365, Hellcat, G42, G43 and G43X carry — so the maker's spelling is kept in manufacturerSizeLabel. IGNITION IS UNSET, AND THE LAUNCH RELEASE MAKES THAT A CLOSER CALL THAN ON THE TX22. Two things point at a striker and neither is a citation: the product page's safety row lists a Striker Block, which is a safety device on the ignition axis rather than a statement of the ignition itself (the TX22 call), and the release's closing paragraph says buyers get "the feature benefits and ergonomics typically associated with larger polymer frame striker-fired pistols" — a comparison to the class of pistol the GX4 is cheaper than, not a description of the GX4. That is the fifth occurrence of the substring trap, after Ruger's "Compact" navigation, Taurus's own warranty menu, the Hellcat release's Echelon navigation and the Mark IV's cold hammer-forged barrel, and it is the first one to appear inside genuine body prose rather than site furniture. Trigger action is Taurus's published "SAO", normalized to sao exactly as on the TX22. Operating system is unset: Taurus states none. CAPACITY IS RECORDED AS THE PRODUCT PAGE PUBLISHES IT AND NOTHING IS CARRIED ACROSS FROM THE RELEASE. The page gives 11 rounds and lists no optional capacity, so capacityOptional is empty. The launch release separately describes an optional 13-round extended magazine, an 11-round magazine with a finger extension, and a 10-round version for restricted states; none is recorded, because the capacity row footnotes a single source and setting the optional list from the release would have attributed the standard capacity to the release too — the wrong-reference bug that `defaultSource` and the per-row source fields exist to prevent. The 10-round version is a separate listing under the base-model rule in any case, as are the GX4 T.O.R.O., GX4XL, GX4 Carry, GX4 Graphene and GX4 Strike Bravo. Weight is published as "18.70 Oz. (Unloaded)", which does not say whether a magazine is fitted, so it sits in weightUnloaded with the qualifier kept; overall height carries the same basis note for the same reason. WARRANTY IS RECORDED FROM A DOCUMENT THAT SCOPES BY CLASS, AND THE GX4 IS NOT NAMED IN IT. Taurus's Limited Lifetime Warranty page opens with a list of ten models and series moved up from a one-year warranty — G2c, G2s, TH series, TX22, 1911 Commander, 1911 Officer, Spectrum, Raging Hunter, 856 and 692 — and neither the GX4 nor the G3c appears on it. That list is a migration list, not a scope list: the operative text below it warrants "the enclosed Taurus firearm" and states that it is the only warranty Taurus extends covering that firearm. So the warranty is recordable on the class reading, the Walther PPK call, with its conditions kept rather than flattened to "lifetime" — it must be activated by the original purchaser within 30 days of purchase, it covers finish, grips, magazines, sights and accessories for the first year only, and it terminates on transfer to anyone but the original purchaser. Note this reading also revises how the TX22's warranty was described: being named in that list is not what makes a Taurus covered. Year introduced comes from Taurus's own dated announcement, "The All-New Taurus GX4", datelined May 2021 (Bainbridge, GA). Taurus publishes imperial only, so every metric value here is converted by this directory and flagged. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 1:10 right-hand twist, a stainless-steel frame with a polymer grip, an alloy-steel slide, a stainless barrel with a satin black DLC coating, two included magazines, two backstrap options, a reversible magazine release, and the $340.99 MSRP the page carries against the release's $392.42.
Reference fields
| Manufacturer | Taurus[1] |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer series | GX4 |
| Firearm category | Handgun[1] |
| Manufacturer chambering | 9MM LUGER[1] |
| Generation | Not yet verified |
| Manufacturer size class | Microcompact[1] |
| Manufacturer listing | Listed on Taurus USA as item 1-GX4M931, UPC 7-25327-93539-1[1] |
| Trigger action | Single-action only[1] |
| Slide finish | Gas Nitride[1] |
| Controls | Fixed front sight with a drift-adjustable rear; striker block, trigger safety and a visual loaded chamber indicator[1] |
| Warranty | Limited Lifetime Warranty to the original purchaser, activated by registering within 30 days of purchase; finish, grips, magazines, sights and accessories are covered for the first year only, and the warranty terminates on transfer[3] |
| MSRP | Not recorded |
Sources
- [1]Taurus GX4 — specifications (item 1-GX4M931)Manufacturer Manufacturer product pageAccessed 2026-08-13
- [2]The All-New Taurus GX4 — Taurus announcement datelined May 2021 (Bainbridge, GA)Manufacturer Manufacturer announcementAccessed 2026-08-13
- [3]Accessed 2026-08-13
Common questions
Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.
01What caliber is the Taurus GX4?
The Taurus GX4 is chambered in 9x19mm Parabellum. Taurus writes it as 9MM LUGER. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.
02How many rounds does the Taurus GX4 hold?
Taurus lists an 11-round standard magazine for the GX4. Taurus lists no optional capacities for this record. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.
03What is the barrel length of the Taurus GX4?
Taurus lists a barrel length of ≈77.7 mm / 3.06 in.
04What are the dimensions of the Taurus GX4?
Taurus publishes ≈153.7 × 27.4 × 111.8 mm / 6.05 × 1.08 × 4.4 in (height: magazine state not stated by Taurus). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.
05How much does the Taurus GX4 weigh?
Taurus publishes ≈530 g / 18.7 oz (published as "(Unloaded)"; magazine state not stated by Taurus).
06What size class is the Taurus GX4?
Taurus lists the GX4 as Microcompact, and this directory records the same class.
07Is the Taurus GX4 striker-fired?
Taurus publishes "SAO" as its own name for the action and does not classify an ignition type for the GX4. This directory records the manufacturer's wording and leaves the ignition field empty rather than inferring a classification the source does not state.
08When was the Taurus GX4 introduced?
2021, per the source cited on this record. Where a manufacturer publishes no dated announcement, this directory records no year rather than estimating one.
09Does the Taurus GX4 have a warranty?
Taurus states: Limited Lifetime Warranty to the original purchaser, activated by registering within 30 days of purchase; finish, grips, magazines, sights and accessories are covered for the first year only, and the warranty terminates on transfer. Terms are as published at the date this record was checked and may vary by region.