Taurus G3
Taurus lists the G3 as a full-size, striker-fired 9 mm pistol with a 4 in stainless barrel under a Tenifer-finished alloy steel slide, a polymer frame with a Picatinny rail, a single-action trigger with restrike capability, a manual safety, and a 17-round magazine.
Show the full noteHide the full note
Chosen as the base listing because it is the SKU Taurus itself names in the March 2021 in-line change release ("Taurus G3 (G3B941) Specifications"), and because its siblings were diffed rather than assumed: the 15-round 1-G3B941-15 and 10-round 1-G3B941-10 black listings match it on every row except item number, UPC and capacity, and the stainless 1-G3B949 differs only in its slide material and finish. Separate listings under the base-model rule: the 15- and 10-round configurations, the MA-compliant 10-round listing, the stainless, tan and gray colourways, the G3 T.O.R.O. optics-ready model and the G3 Tactical. Family is "G3", Taurus's own series name, exactly as on the G3c record. FRAME CLASS IS TRANSCRIPTION: Taurus publishes a Frame Size row reading "Full Size", which normalizes to full-size as the TaurusTX 22's "Full" does; the maker's two-word spelling is kept in manufacturerSizeLabel because it is not the directory's hyphenated wording. THE G3c RECORD'S IGNITION NEAR-MISS IS THIS RECORD'S CITATION, AND IT COMES FROM A THIRD DOCUMENT. The G3c release called the G3 "the full-size G3 9mm polymer-frame, striker-fired pistol introduced last year", which could not classify the G3c; it does describe this pistol, but a comparison sentence in another model's release is still not where this record takes its ignition from. Taurus's own G3/G3c instruction manual states it directly under OPERATING INSTRUCTIONS (printed p. 22): "The Taurus G3 & G3c has a striker firing mechanism." So ignition is striker-fired, footnoted to the manual through ignitionSource rather than to the product page, which never states it (its safety row lists only a Striker Block, a component — the TaurusTX 22 call). Both Taurus releases corroborate in their spec blocks with "Action Type: Striker" (2019) and "Action Type: striker" (2021, naming item 1-G3B941). Note this sentence covers the G3c as well, which bears on that record's reasoning — see the batch report. TRIGGER ACTION IS UNSET FOR THE G3c's REASON, NOT FOR SILENCE: the page publishes "Action Type: SA w/Restrike", the manual's table says "Single action with restrike capability" and explains that the mechanism normally operates as single action and changes to double action after a misfire. That is none of sao, dao or da/sa, so the wording is kept verbatim in `system`; a `sa-restrike` value would fit and is a user decision. Operating system is unset: the manual says only that "the slide will recoil from gas pressure", which describes what the slide does after firing rather than classifying the mechanism — it names neither short recoil nor gas operation as a system, and reading either off it would be the Hellcat near-miss again. THREE MANUFACTURER DOCUMENTS DISAGREE WITH THE CURRENT PAGE, AND THE PAGE GOVERNS. The product page gives 7.28 in overall length, 1.20 in width, 5.20 in height, a 4.00 in barrel and 24.83 oz; the March 2021 in-line change release agrees with every one of those figures. The October 2019 launch release gives 7.30 in length, 1.25 in width and 25 oz; and the G3/G3c manual's specification table (printed p. 14) gives 1.26 in width while agreeing on length, height and barrel. Current page governs, the others are disclosed here, as on the G29 Gen5 and G42. The width spread (1.20, 1.25, 1.26 in) is the one that matters for comparison; the length and weight gaps are within rounding. THE WEIGHT'S BASIS IS STATED BY ONE TAURUS DOCUMENT AND NOT BY THE ONE THE ROW FOOTNOTES. The page and the 2021 release publish 24.83 oz "(Unloaded)", so the value sits in weightUnloaded as on every other Taurus record; the manual's table labels the identical figure "Weight (with empty magazine)" for the 15-round magazine and gives 25.36 oz with the 17-round one. That is carried in the basis, naming the manual, on the Colt Python precedent, rather than moving the value to weightWithEmptyMagazine, which would credit the product page with a basis it does not state. TRIGGER PULL COMES FROM THE LAUNCH RELEASE ALONE. The product page and manual publish none; the 2019 release describes "the 6-lb. trigger", so a single 6 lb pull is recorded with triggerPullSource pointing at the release, converted to newtons and flagged. The 2021 in-line change touched only the sights, so nothing in Taurus's later documents supersedes it — but it is a 2019 figure and is labelled as such. CAPACITY IS 17 AS THE PAGE PUBLISHES IT, with no optional capacity listed. The launch release calls 17 the extended-magazine figure and the 2021 release says this item ships with one 17- and one 15-round magazine; neither is carried into capacityOptional, because the capacity row footnotes the product page alone (the GX4 rule). YEAR INTRODUCED IS 2019, AND THE ROUTE TO IT IS STATED SO IT CAN BE CHECKED. The launch release carries no dateline in its body. The G3c release, datelined June 2020 (Bainbridge, GA), calls the G3 the pistol "introduced last year", which is Taurus's own statement dating this model, resolved against that document's own dateline; yearIntroducedSource therefore points at the G3c release. The launch page's WordPress publication timestamp of 2019-10-10 agrees but is a CMS field and is not the source (the Smith & Wesson `date_created` lesson). The Web Archive was not reachable during this session (HTTP 429, then refused connections), so no capture was used to bound either date. Warranty is recorded on the class reading used for the GX4 and G3c: the G3 is not in the page's list of models migrated from a one-year warranty, and the operative text warrants "the enclosed Taurus firearm" with the same conditions. Taurus publishes imperial only, so every metric value is converted by this directory and flagged. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 1:10 right-hand twist, a polymer frame, an alloy steel slide, a stainless barrel in matte stainless, a Picatinny rail, two included magazines, and the Teflon controls finish named in the 2021 release.
Reference fields
| Manufacturer | Taurus[1] |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer series | G3 |
| Firearm category | Handgun[1] |
| Manufacturer chambering | 9MM LUGER[1] |
| Generation | Not yet verified |
| Manufacturer size class | Full Size[1] |
| Manufacturer listing | Listed on Taurus USA as item 1-G3B941, UPC 7-25327-62576-6[1] |
| Ignition | Striker-fired[2] |
| Slide finish | Tenifer Matte Black[1] |
| Controls | Fixed front sight with a drift-adjustable rear; manual safety, striker block, trigger safety and loaded chamber indicator; Picatinny rail[1] |
| Warranty | Limited Lifetime Warranty to the original purchaser, activated by registering within 30 days of purchase; finish, grips, magazines, sights and accessories are covered for the first year only, and the warranty terminates on transfer[6] |
| MSRP | Not recorded |
Sources
- [1]Taurus G3 — specifications (item 1-G3B941)Manufacturer Manufacturer product pageAccessed 2026-09-30
- [2]Taurus G3 & G3c Instruction Manual — cited for "The Taurus G3 & G3c has a striker firing mechanism" (printed p. 22) and the specification table (printed p. 14)Manufacturer Manufacturer owner's manual (PDF)Accessed 2026-09-30
- [3]Taurus® Introduces the G3 Polymer 9mm Pistol — Taurus announcement, undated in its body; cited for "the 6-lb. trigger"Manufacturer Manufacturer announcementAccessed 2026-09-30
- [4]Taurus Updates G3 Sight System — Taurus announcement datelined March 2021 (Bainbridge, GA), specifications for item 1-G3B941Manufacturer Manufacturer announcementAccessed 2026-09-30
- [5]Introducing the All-New Taurus G3c — Taurus announcement datelined June 2020 (Bainbridge, GA); describes the G3 as "introduced last year"Manufacturer Manufacturer announcementAccessed 2026-09-30
- [6]Accessed 2026-09-30
Common questions
Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.
01What caliber is the Taurus G3?
The Taurus G3 is chambered in 9x19mm Parabellum. Taurus writes it as 9MM LUGER. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.
02How many rounds does the Taurus G3 hold?
Taurus lists a 17-round standard magazine for the G3. Taurus lists no optional capacities for this record. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.
03What is the barrel length of the Taurus G3?
Taurus lists a barrel length of ≈101.6 mm / 4 in.
04What are the dimensions of the Taurus G3?
Taurus publishes ≈184.9 × 30.5 × 132.1 mm / 7.28 × 1.2 × 5.2 in (height: magazine state not stated by Taurus). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.
05How much does the Taurus G3 weigh?
Taurus publishes ≈704 g / 24.83 oz (published as "(Unloaded)" on the product page; Taurus's G3/G3c manual labels the same 24.83 oz figure "with empty magazine" for the 15-round magazine (25.36 oz with the 17-round)).
06What size class is the Taurus G3?
Taurus lists the G3 as Full Size, and this directory records the same class.
07Is the Taurus G3 striker-fired?
Striker-fired. Taurus publishes this as "SA w/Restrike". This is recorded from the manufacturer's own classification rather than inferred from the mechanism.
08What is the trigger pull on the Taurus G3?
Taurus lists ≈26.7 N / 6 lb (described as "the 6-lb. trigger" in the 2019 launch release; the current product page publishes no pull). A published figure is a specification rather than a measurement of any individual firearm.
09When was the Taurus G3 introduced?
2019, per the source cited on this record. Where a manufacturer publishes no dated announcement, this directory records no year rather than estimating one.
10Does the Taurus G3 have a warranty?
Taurus states: Limited Lifetime Warranty to the original purchaser, activated by registering within 30 days of purchase; finish, grips, magazines, sights and accessories are covered for the first year only, and the warranty terminates on transfer. Terms are as published at the date this record was checked and may vary by region.