Springfield Armory 1911 DS Prodigy AOS 5"
Springfield Armory lists the 1911 DS Prodigy AOS with a 5 in forged stainless match-grade bull barrel, a forged carbon steel frame and optics-ready slide in black Cerakote, a fiber optic front sight with a black serrated rear, and 17- and 20-round magazines.
Show the full noteHide the full note
Springfield catalogues 36 Prodigy SKUs and this is the plain one: the 4.25 in and 3.5 in barrel lengths, the Comp models, Coyote Brown, the HEX Dragonfly optic bundles, the low-capacity configurations and the FirstLine listings are all separate under the base-model rule. The discontinued flag was checked, as the Hellcat record's experience requires — this SKU is current. THE WEIGHT FIELD DIFFERS FROM THE OTHER TWO SPRINGFIELD RECORDS, AND THAT IS THE NORMALIZED RULE WORKING RATHER THAN AN INCONSISTENCY. The Echelon and Hellcat publish "23.9 oz w/ Flush Mag" and "18.3 oz w/ Flush Mag", stating that a magazine is fitted, so both sit in weightWithEmptyMagazine. The Prodigy publishes a bare "33 oz" with no mention of a magazine at all, which is the other side of the discriminating question settled on 2026-08-12, so it sits in weightUnloaded with the magazine state recorded as unstated. Same maker, same page template, different wording, different field — the test is applied, not the answer. Height is bare "5.5"" for the same reason and carries the same basis note, where the Echelon and Hellcat qualify theirs by magazine type. Overall width is unrecorded: Springfield publishes none for this model, not even the Grip Width it gives for the Echelon and Hellcat, so the dimensions row names the missing axis. All three action axes are unset, consistent with the Echelon, Hellcat and Kuna. The 55-page 1911 DS manual names a Delta Hammer and a 1911-A1 Hammer Strut in its parts lists and explains that the safety cannot be engaged unless the hammer is cocked — components and a manual of arms, not a classification — and it contains no specification table and no occurrence of "single action", "semi-automatic" or "recoil operated". A 1911 is a single-action, short-recoil, hammer-fired pistol and Springfield states none of the three, so none is recorded; this is the fourth Springfield record in a row where the maker classifies nothing. Year introduced comes from Springfield's dated launch release, GENESEO, ILL. (09/01/22), which announces the Prodigy as "the first offering in the new 1911 DS double-stack line" — which is also why the family is recorded as 1911 DS, Springfield's own series name, rather than Prodigy. Note one wording difference between sources that is NOT recorded: the launch release describes "raised fiber-optic front/u-notch rear sights" plus an ambidextrous safety and Picatinny rail, while the product page's own sight row reads "Fiber Optic Front, Black Serrated Rear". The controls row follows the product page, which is the record's default source; the release's u-notch wording and its safety and rail details are left out rather than blended across two sources under one footnote. Warranty is unrecorded, as on the Echelon, Hellcat and Kuna: Springfield's warranty text is not in the Inertia payload that does yield its manuals. Springfield publishes imperial only, so every metric value here is converted and flagged. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a forged stainless match-grade bull barrel with a 1:16 twist, a forged carbon steel frame and slide in black Cerakote, polymer grips, a two-piece full-length guide rod, and the $1,530 MSRP.
Reference fields
| Manufacturer | Springfield Armory[1] |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer series | 1911 DS |
| Firearm category | Handgun[1] |
| Manufacturer chambering | 9mm[1] |
| Generation | Not yet verified |
| Manufacturer listing | Listed on Springfield Armory as SKU PH9119AOS[1] |
| Slide finish | Black Cerakote[1] |
| Controls | Fiber optic front sight with a black serrated rear; optics-ready slide cut for the Agency Optic System; polymer grips; two-piece full-length guide rod[1] |
| Warranty | Not yet verified |
| MSRP | Not recorded |
Sources
- [1]1911 DS Prodigy AOS 9mm Handgun — specifications (SKU PH9119AOS)Manufacturer Manufacturer product pageAccessed 2026-08-12
- [2]Springfield Armory Launches New Double-Stack Prodigy 9mm 1911 DS (September 1, 2022)Manufacturer Manufacturer press releaseAccessed 2026-08-12
- [3]1911 DS Owner's Manual (cited for the parts lists and safety description, which name hammer components but classify no action axis)Manufacturer Manufacturer owner's manual (PDF)Accessed 2026-08-12
Common questions
Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.
01What caliber is the Springfield Armory 1911 DS Prodigy AOS 5"?
The Springfield Armory 1911 DS Prodigy AOS 5" is chambered in 9x19mm Parabellum. Springfield Armory writes it as 9mm. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.
02How many rounds does the Springfield Armory 1911 DS Prodigy AOS 5" hold?
Springfield Armory lists a 17-round standard magazine for the 1911 DS Prodigy AOS 5". Springfield Armory also lists 20-round capacity as optional. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.
03What is the barrel length of the Springfield Armory 1911 DS Prodigy AOS 5"?
Springfield Armory lists a barrel length of ≈127 mm / 5 in.
04What are the dimensions of the Springfield Armory 1911 DS Prodigy AOS 5"?
Springfield Armory publishes ≈length 215.9, height 139.7 mm / length 8.5, height 5.5 in (height: magazine state not stated by Springfield; width not published). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.
05How much does the Springfield Armory 1911 DS Prodigy AOS 5" weigh?
Springfield Armory publishes ≈936 g / 33 oz (magazine state not stated by Springfield).
06When was the Springfield Armory 1911 DS Prodigy AOS 5" introduced?
2022, per the source cited on this record. Where a manufacturer publishes no dated announcement, this directory records no year rather than estimating one.