Directory / Springfield Armory / 9x19mm Parabellum / Kuna / Kuna 9mm Pistol
Entry 45 of 70Submit a correction
handgun

Springfield Armory Kuna 9mm Pistol

Springfield Armory lists the Kuna as a roller-delayed 9 mm pistol developed with HS Produkt, with a 6 in cold hammer-forged threaded barrel, a monolithic aluminium upper receiver, an integral M-Lok handguard, hybrid flip-up sights and two 30-round magazines.

Scope note: SKU KN9069B, the base 9 mm configuration, current.
Show the full noteHide the full note

A large-format pistol rather than a conventional handgun — 15.5 in long with a 6 in threaded barrel and two 30-round magazines — which is why several fields behave unlike any other record here. The Tri-Lug, Strike Industries FSA, Firstline, low-capacity and .40 S&W listings are separate under the base-model rule, and note that Springfield also catalogues a Kuna RIFLE, which is a long gun and out of scope until the schema supports one. THIS RECORD EXPOSED A DEFECT IN THIS PROJECT'S OWN EXTRACTOR, WHICH IS WORTH MORE THAN THE RECORD. execution/extract_springfield_specs.py matched specification rows against a hardcoded list of labels, so it reported 8 fields for a page publishing 21 — silently dropping Operating System, Upper Receiver, Lower Receiver, Handguard, Trigger, Muzzle Device, Safety Switch, Charging Handle, Grip and more, because those labels had never been seen on an Echelon or Hellcat page. A whitelist cannot tell "the maker does not publish this" from "nobody has thought of this label yet", and that distinction is what every record here rests on. The extractor now anchors on Springfield's own markup (a label div followed by a data div) and reports every row. THE SHIPPED RECORDS WERE THEN RE-CHECKED RATHER THAN ASSUMED SAFE: re-extracting the Echelon and Hellcat with the fixed parser surfaced exactly one field between them, the Echelon's MSRP of $710, which has no schema field — so no recorded value on either was wrong. OPERATING SYSTEM IS THE INTERESTING FIELD. Springfield publishes a row literally labelled "Operating System" whose value is "Roller-Delayed" — the first Springfield record in the directory where the maker classifies an action axis at all, against the Echelon and Hellcat where it classifies none. The record initially left the normalized field unset, not because nothing was published but because the directory's OperatingSystem union had no roller-delayed value; the value was added on a user decision on 2026-08-12 and the field is now set. Mapping it onto the existing "blowback" was rejected then and remains rejected: roller-delayed operation is a species of delayed blowback, so that value would not have been false, but it would have discarded the delaying mechanism — which is the whole of what Springfield chose to state — exactly as flattening the MR920's "recoil-operated" would have. The maker's wording is preserved verbatim in `system` beside the normalized value, and both are footnoted to the product page, which is where both come from. Ignition is unset for the ordinary reason: the manual's parts diagrams list a Hammer, Hammer Spring and Hammer Spring Guide, which are components rather than a classification — the Hellcat's striker-parts call, applied to a hammer this time — and the 40-page manual carries no mechanism description or specification table. Trigger action is unset; "Trigger: Flat Aluminium" describes a shoe. NO HEIGHT AND NO WIDTH ARE PUBLISHED, a first for this directory: Springfield gives only an overall length, so the dimensions row names the two axes nobody published rather than implying a complete set. WEIGHT IS PUBLISHED IN A MIXED IMPERIAL FORM, "4 lbs 10 oz", which no other record has hit. Pounds and ounces are one unit system and the conversion between them is exact, so 74 oz is a notation change rather than a derivation; the metric side is directory arithmetic and flagged as converted, and the basis preserves Springfield's published wording so a reader can see the form the figure was actually given in. Note the schema limitation this exposes: `converted` names ONE side, so a record whose displayed imperial figure was itself re-expressed cannot say so in the data, only in the basis. Year introduced comes from Springfield's dated launch release, GENESEO, ILL. (04/15/25), which also records that the Kuna was developed with HS Produkt in Croatia and is named for the European pine marten. Warranty is unrecorded for the same reason as the Echelon and Hellcat: Springfield's warranty text lives on a client-rendered application and is not in the payload that does yield its manuals. Manufacturer size class and directory frame class are unset — Springfield publishes no size class, and the marketing phrase "a compact, roller-delayed platform" appears in site navigation describing the series rather than as a classification of this SKU. Pistol Brace reads "N/A": the Kuna ships without one, and the Picatinny receiver end plate is what a brace would attach to. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 1:10 twist, a 1/2x28 threaded muzzle, a monolithic Type III hardcoat anodized aluminium upper, a glass-filled polymer lower, an integral M-Lok handguard, a multi-port muzzle brake, and a $1,179 MSRP.

Reference fields

ManufacturerSpringfield Armory[1]
Manufacturer seriesKuna
Firearm categoryHandgun[1]
Manufacturer chambering9mm[1]
GenerationNot yet verified
Manufacturer listingListed on Springfield Armory as SKU KN9069B[1]
Operating systemRoller-delayed[1]
Slide finishNot yet verified
ControlsHybrid flip-up sights; ambidextrous safety switch; reversible non-reciprocating charging handle; flat aluminium trigger; integral M-Lok handguard; Picatinny receiver end plate; multi-port muzzle brake; AR-pattern grip with Adaptive Grip Texture[1]
WarrantyNot yet verified
MSRPNot recorded
Verification boundary: Published technical data are rounded, may not reflect manufacturing tolerances, and may change without notice. MSRP is not recorded: most cited product pages do publish a price, but it changes without notice and independently of the specification, so this directory has no field for it and the row stays blank rather than carrying a figure that would silently go stale. Values marked ≈ were converted by this directory from the unit system the source published; the unmarked figure in the same row is the published one.
Evidence tiers backing this record: Manufacturer. Unmarked values come from manufacturer documentation; any value drawn from a lower tier is labeled inline with that tier. Where two sources disagreed, the higher tier was recorded and the disagreement noted.

Sources

  1. [1]
    KUNA 9mm Pistol — specifications (SKU KN9069B)Manufacturer Manufacturer product page
    Accessed 2026-08-12
  2. [2]Accessed 2026-08-12
  3. [3]Accessed 2026-08-12

Common questions

Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.

01What caliber is the Springfield Armory Kuna 9mm Pistol?

The Springfield Armory Kuna 9mm Pistol is chambered in 9x19mm Parabellum. Springfield Armory writes it as 9mm. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.

02How many rounds does the Springfield Armory Kuna 9mm Pistol hold?

Springfield Armory lists a 30-round standard magazine for the Kuna 9mm Pistol. Springfield Armory lists no optional capacities for this record. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.

03What is the barrel length of the Springfield Armory Kuna 9mm Pistol?

Springfield Armory lists a barrel length of ≈152.4 mm / 6 in.

04What are the dimensions of the Springfield Armory Kuna 9mm Pistol?

Springfield Armory publishes ≈length 393.7 mm / length 15.5 in (width and height not published). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.

05How much does the Springfield Armory Kuna 9mm Pistol weigh?

Springfield Armory publishes ≈2098 g / 74 oz (Springfield publishes this as "4 lbs 10 oz"; magazine state not stated).

06Is the Springfield Armory Kuna 9mm Pistol striker-fired?

Springfield Armory publishes "Roller-Delayed" as its own name for the action and does not classify an ignition type for the Kuna 9mm Pistol. This directory records the manufacturer's wording and leaves the ignition field empty rather than inferring a classification the source does not state.

07When was the Springfield Armory Kuna 9mm Pistol introduced?

2025, per the source cited on this record. Where a manufacturer publishes no dated announcement, this directory records no year rather than estimating one.