Directory / Ruger / .22 LR / Wrangler
Entry 75 of 100Submit a correction
handgun

Ruger Wrangler

Ruger lists the Wrangler model 2003 as a six-shot .22 LR single-action revolver with a 4.62 in cold hammer-forged barrel, a silver Cerakote aluminium-alloy cylinder frame, blade front and integral notch rear sights, and checkered synthetic grips on a Single-Six-pattern grip frame.

Scope note: Model 2003, catalogue WRG-4F: the 4.62 in, six-shot .22 LR Wrangler with a silver Cerakote aluminium-alloy cylinder frame.
Show the full noteHide the full note

It is the catalogue number carrying the page's embedded specification object, and it is one of the launch configurations: Ruger's April 19, 2019 release says the Wrangler was "initially offered in three attractive Cerakote models - black, silver and bronze", and 2003's own `introDate` of 2019-04-12 falls a week before it. The page displays nine further catalogue numbers (2002, 2004, 2014, 2023, 2024, 2030, 2050, 2057, 2058), all separate listings under the base-model rule. The Super Wrangler is a separate product key. MEASUREMENTS ARE FROM RUGER'S PER-MODEL SPEC SHEET, WHICH PUBLISHES BOTH UNIT SYSTEMS, so nothing on this record is converted. Ruger's metric is truncated rather than rounded — 10.25 in is printed 26 cm (260.35 mm, recorded as 260 mm) and 30 oz is printed 850 g (850.5 g) — and both systems are recorded as published, neither flagged. The models-page JSON agrees on every imperial figure. The launch release's remark that the Wrangler "will fit in Single-Six holsters that accommodate 4-5/8 in barrels" is a holster-compatibility statement, not a barrel specification, and is not read as a conflict with the published 4.62 in. Overall width and height are unrecorded: the JSON's `width` and `height` are the 0.000 placeholder, and the spec sheet prints no such rows. TRIGGER ACTION IS sao, FROM THE MANUAL. Ruger's structured `action` field reads "Single-Action", which is the other of the two catalogue shelves the LCR record describes; unlike "Double-Action" it could only ever select one directory value, but the record does not rest on a shelf name. The Wrangler manual names the model in its own mechanism section (PDF p. 12: "The mechanism of the RUGER WRANGLER revolver may differ significantly from other single-action revolvers. The information and instructions which follow apply only to this revolver"), lists it among Ruger's single-action revolvers (PDF p. 8), and states the mode operationally (PDF p. 16: "To fire the revolver, the hammer must first be manually cocked"). `system` carries the manual's "single-action revolver" and `triggerActionSource` footnotes both action rows to it. Ignition and operating system are unset: the manual describes the hammer falling onto a transfer bar that "transmits the energy of the hammer blow to the firing pin", which is the component description the Colt Python record declines to classify, and a revolver's cycling is not among the union's values. "Cold hammer-forged barrel" on the page is a manufacturing process, the Mark IV substring trap. Slide finish is unset: a revolver has no slide, and Ruger's "Cylinder Frame Finish: Silver Cerakote" describes the frame, so recording it in a slide field would be the LCR error. Year introduced is 2019, from the launch release "Ruger Announces New Wrangler .22 LR Single-Action Revolver" (April 19, 2019). Warranty is recorded from the manual (PDF p. 40): Ruger states it provides no written warranty, limited or full. Family is unset because the Family union has no Wrangler value, although Ruger publishes it as a series name — a vocabulary gap for a user decision. Frame class is unset because Ruger publishes no size class. Weight sits in `weightUnloaded` on the LCR's reasoning. The page also states the Wrangler is not available for sale in Minnesota. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 1:14 in RH twist with six grooves, an aluminium alloy cylinder frame, checkered synthetic grips on a Single-Six-pattern grip frame, UPC 7-36676-02003-4, and a $269.00 suggested retail price.

Reference fields

ManufacturerRuger[2]
Manufacturer seriesWrangler
Firearm categoryHandgun[2]
Manufacturer chambering22 LR[2]
GenerationNot yet verified
Manufacturer listingListed on Ruger as model 2003, catalogue WRG-4F — one of the three launch configurations[2]
Trigger actionSingle-action only[3]
Slide finishNot yet verified
ControlsBlade front sight with an integral notch rear sight; checkered synthetic grips on a Single-Six-pattern grip frame; transfer bar mechanism and loading gate interlock[2]
WarrantyNo written warranty: Ruger states it has elected not to provide any written warranty, either limited or full, and refers owners to the implied warranties of their state's law[3]
MSRPNot recorded
Verification boundary: Published technical data are rounded, may not reflect manufacturing tolerances, and may change without notice. MSRP is not recorded: most cited product pages do publish a price, but it changes without notice and independently of the specification, so this directory has no field for it and the row stays blank rather than carrying a figure that would silently go stale.
Evidence tiers backing this record: Manufacturer. Unmarked values come from manufacturer documentation; any value drawn from a lower tier is labeled inline with that tier. Where two sources disagreed, the higher tier was recorded and the disagreement noted.

Sources

  1. [1]Accessed 2026-09-30
  2. [2]
    Ruger Wrangler — model 2003 (WRG-4F) spec sheetManufacturer Manufacturer spec sheet
    Accessed 2026-09-30
  3. [3]Accessed 2026-09-30
  4. [4]Accessed 2026-09-30

Common questions

Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.

01What caliber is the Ruger Wrangler?

The Ruger Wrangler is chambered in .22 LR. Ruger writes it as 22 LR. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.

02How many rounds does the Ruger Wrangler hold?

Ruger lists a 6-round standard magazine for the Wrangler. Ruger lists no optional capacities for this record. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.

03What is the barrel length of the Ruger Wrangler?

Ruger lists a barrel length of 117 mm / 4.62 in.

04What are the dimensions of the Ruger Wrangler?

Ruger publishes length 260 mm / length 10.25 in (width and height not published). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.

05How much does the Ruger Wrangler weigh?

Ruger publishes 850 g / 30 oz (measurement basis not stated by Ruger; a revolver has no magazine, so the magazine question this field usually settles does not arise).

06Is the Ruger Wrangler striker-fired?

Ruger publishes "single-action revolver" as its own name for the action and does not classify an ignition type for the Wrangler. This directory records the manufacturer's wording and leaves the ignition field empty rather than inferring a classification the source does not state.

07When was the Ruger Wrangler introduced?

2019, per the source cited on this record. Where a manufacturer publishes no dated announcement, this directory records no year rather than estimating one.

08Does the Ruger Wrangler have a warranty?

Ruger states: No written warranty: Ruger states it has elected not to provide any written warranty, either limited or full, and refers owners to the implied warranties of their state's law. Terms are as published at the date this record was checked and may vary by region.