Directory / Ruger / .38 Special / SP101 / SP101 Standard
Entry 72 of 100Submit a correction
handgun

Ruger SP101 Standard

Ruger lists the SP101 Standard model 5737 as a five-shot .38 Spl +P double-action revolver with a 2.25 in barrel, a satin stainless steel construction, a pinned black ramp front sight with an integral rear sight, and a cushioned rubber grip with black synthetic inserts.

Scope note: Model 5737, catalogue KSP-821X: the 2.25 in satin stainless SP101 in .38 Spl +P.
Show the full noteHide the full note

READ THE CHAMBERING BEFORE ASSUMING THE CARTRIDGE: the SP101 is widely thought of as a .357 Magnum revolver, and Ruger's page does display .357 Magnum models, but the one catalogue number carrying Ruger's embedded specification object is this .38 Spl +P gun, so the record is .38 Special. "+P" is a pressure rating the revolver is rated for, kept in the maker's wording and out of the grouping field, as on the LCR. Ruger's SP101 Standard page displays fourteen further catalogue numbers (15702, 15704, 15707, 15710, 5718, 5719, 5720, 5764, 5765, 5771, 5773, 5774, 5783, 5784) — ten of them .357 Magnum, two .327 Federal Magnum, one .22 LR and one 9mm Luger, so 5737 is the ONLY .38 Spl +P catalogue number on the page, a point worth knowing before treating it as representative — all separate listings under the base-model rule; none of 5737's figures may be carried across to them. The SP101 Match Champion is a separate product key. As on the GP100, 5737 is recorded because it is the configuration Ruger's page presents as its specification record, not because it is the only one with a spec sheet. MEASUREMENTS ARE FROM RUGER'S PER-MODEL SPEC SHEET, WHICH PUBLISHES BOTH UNIT SYSTEMS, so nothing here is converted. Ruger prints the overall length as 7.20 in / 18.2 cm (recorded as 182 mm) though 7.20 in is 182.9 mm: its metric figures are truncated rather than rounded. Both systems are recorded as published and neither is flagged. The barrel (2.25 in / 57 mm) and weight (26 oz / 737 g) reconcile. The models-page JSON agrees with the spec sheet on every imperial figure. Overall width and height are unrecorded: the JSON's `width` and `height` both read 0.000, a placeholder, and the spec sheet prints no such rows. TRIGGER ACTION IS da/sa FROM THE MANUAL. Ruger's structured `action` is the catalogue shelf "Double-Action", which cannot discriminate (the LCR rule), but the SP101 manual's "To load and fire" procedure (PDF p. 17, step 3, a page that is an image in the PDF and was read rendered) states the revolver "is now ready to fire, either 'double-action' by pulling the trigger through its complete arc for each shot, or 'single-action' by cocking the hammer and then pulling the trigger for each shot". `system` carries that clause verbatim with the manual's own hyphenation, and `triggerActionSource` footnotes both rows to the manual. The manual's general-information page (PDF p. 11) calls the SP101 "a double-action firearm" — the same non-discriminating word as the page — and names a transfer bar that transmits the hammer blow to the firing pin, which is a component description rather than an ignition classification, so ignition is unset as on the Colt Python; operating system is unset because a revolver's cycling is not among the union's values. Warranty is recorded from the manual (PDF p. 44, also an image page): Ruger states it has elected to provide no written warranty, either limited or full, and refers owners to implied warranties under state law — a positive statement, recorded, where the earlier Ruger records found only the absence of a web page. Year introduced is unrecorded: the JSON's `introDate` is the 1000-01-01 placeholder, and Ruger's online news archive holds only later SP101 variant announcements (the 2011 rimfire and 4.2 in .357 models, the 2017 Match Champion, the 2018 blued model), none of which is this model's launch. Family is unset because the Family union has no SP101 value, although Ruger publishes the series name (`line`: "SP101®") — a vocabulary gap for a user decision. Frame class is unset because Ruger publishes no size class. Slide finish is unset because a revolver has no slide. Weight sits in `weightUnloaded` on the LCR's reasoning. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 1:18.75 in RH twist with five grooves, stainless steel construction with a satin stainless finish, black rubber grips with black synthetic inserts, UPC 7-36676-05737-5, a $939.00 suggested retail price, and California and Massachusetts approval.

Reference fields

ManufacturerRuger[2]
Manufacturer seriesSP101
Firearm categoryHandgun[2]
Manufacturer chambering38 Spl +P[2]
GenerationNot yet verified
Manufacturer listingListed on Ruger as model 5737, catalogue KSP-821X — the one catalogue number of 15 on the SP101 Standard page carrying an embedded specification object[2]
Trigger actionDouble-action / single-action[3]
Slide finishNot yet verified
ControlsPinned, replaceable black ramp front sight with an integral rear sight; cushioned rubber grip with black synthetic inserts and no exposed metal in the backstrap; triple-locking cylinder; transfer bar mechanism[2]
WarrantyNo written warranty: Ruger states it has elected not to provide any written warranty, either limited or full, and refers owners to the implied warranties of their state's law[3]
MSRPNot recorded
Verification boundary: Published technical data are rounded, may not reflect manufacturing tolerances, and may change without notice. MSRP is not recorded: most cited product pages do publish a price, but it changes without notice and independently of the specification, so this directory has no field for it and the row stays blank rather than carrying a figure that would silently go stale.
Evidence tiers backing this record: Manufacturer. Unmarked values come from manufacturer documentation; any value drawn from a lower tier is labeled inline with that tier. Where two sources disagreed, the higher tier was recorded and the disagreement noted.

Sources

  1. [1]Accessed 2026-09-30
  2. [2]
    Ruger SP101 — model 5737 (KSP-821X) spec sheetManufacturer Manufacturer spec sheet
    Accessed 2026-09-30
  3. [3]Accessed 2026-09-30

Common questions

Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.

01What caliber is the Ruger SP101 Standard?

The Ruger SP101 Standard is chambered in .38 Special. Ruger writes it as 38 Spl +P. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.

02How many rounds does the Ruger SP101 Standard hold?

Ruger lists a 5-round standard magazine for the SP101 Standard. Ruger lists no optional capacities for this record. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.

03What is the barrel length of the Ruger SP101 Standard?

Ruger lists a barrel length of 57 mm / 2.25 in.

04What are the dimensions of the Ruger SP101 Standard?

Ruger publishes length 182 mm / length 7.2 in (width and height not published). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.

05How much does the Ruger SP101 Standard weigh?

Ruger publishes 737 g / 26 oz (measurement basis not stated by Ruger; a revolver has no magazine, so the magazine question this field usually settles does not arise).

06Is the Ruger SP101 Standard striker-fired?

Ruger publishes "either "double-action" by pulling the trigger through its complete arc for each shot, or "single-action" by cocking the hammer and then pulling the trigger for each shot" as its own name for the action and does not classify an ignition type for the SP101 Standard. This directory records the manufacturer's wording and leaves the ignition field empty rather than inferring a classification the source does not state.

07Does the Ruger SP101 Standard have a warranty?

Ruger states: No written warranty: Ruger states it has elected not to provide any written warranty, either limited or full, and refers owners to the implied warranties of their state's law. Terms are as published at the date this record was checked and may vary by region.