Directory / Ruger / 9x19mm Parabellum / Security-9
Entry 73 of 100Submit a correction
handgun

Ruger Security-9

Ruger lists the Security-9 model 3810 as a 9mm Luger pistol with a 4 in barrel, a 15-round magazine, a black oxide through-hardened alloy steel slide on a glass-filled nylon grip frame and aluminium chassis, Ruger's Secure Action internal-hammer fire control, and an external manual safety.

Scope note: Model 3810, catalogue SECURITY-9: the 4 in, 15-round Security-9 with an external manual safety and a black oxide slide.
Show the full noteHide the full note

It is the catalogue number carrying the page's embedded specification object, and its `introDate` of 2017-12-18 falls four days before Ruger's launch release, which is the check the LCP MAX record requires before reading a catalogue number's date as a model's. The page displays nine further catalogue numbers (3811, 3816, 3818, 3819, 3824, 3829, 3830, 3840, 3846), all separate listings under the base-model rule. Three of them (3818, 3829, 3830) are headed "Compact Model" on the page with 10+1 capacity — that is the Security-9 Compact, a different pistol with its own launch release (April 4, 2019), and the reason the word "Compact" cannot be read as a size class for this record: Ruger uses it to distinguish a smaller sibling from this one. The Security-9 Pro models announced in November 2019 are likewise separate listings. FRAME CLASS IS UNSET, AND THE MAKER'S OWN WORDS POINT THREE WAYS. The spec sheet opens "Compact for easy concealment"; the manual calls it "a lightweight, compact, Secure Action, magazine-fed, recoil-operated pistol"; and the launch release calls it "mid-sized" and says it "strikes the perfect balance between a compact and full-size pistol". None of these is a size-class field, the release is two-sided by construction (the Springfield Hellcat Pro call), and filing the base gun as compact would put it in the same class as the model Ruger names Security-9 Compact. MEASUREMENTS ARE FROM RUGER'S PER-MODEL SPEC SHEET, WHICH PUBLISHES BOTH UNIT SYSTEMS, so nothing on this record is converted. Ruger truncates its metric rather than rounding it — 7.24 in is printed 18.3 cm (183.9 mm), 4 in is printed 10.1 cm (101.6 mm), 23.8 oz is printed 674 g (674.7 g) — and both systems are recorded as published, neither flagged. OVERALL WIDTH IS UNSET BECAUSE RUGER LABELS THE ONLY WIDTH IT PUBLISHES "Slide Width" (1.02 in / 25 mm). The models-page JSON carries the same figure under a bare `width` key, which is exactly how a slide width would reach an overall-width field unexamined; the spec sheet's label governs, the Desert Eagle and Smith & Wesson Shield Plus rule, and the dimensions row names the missing axis. Height and weight carry basis notes because Ruger states no magazine state for either. A CONFLICT WITH THE LAUNCH RELEASE, DISCLOSED: Ruger's December 22, 2017 release gives the weight as 23.7 oz "with an empty magazine" against the current spec sheet's 23.8 oz with no basis. The current spec sheet governs current specifications and the release governs only the year; note the release's basis is NOT carried onto the current figure, since it describes a different number. The release also describes a "blued" slide where the current spec sheet gives a black oxide slide over a blued barrel. ACTION AXES: ignition is hammer-fired, footnoted to the manual, whose firing procedure (PDF p. 16, step 7) says the first shot "can be fired by pulling the trigger all the way to the rear, which releases the hammer and then fires the pistol"; the spec sheet agrees ("Internal, Secure Action hammer provides strong ignition force"). Operating system is recoil-operated, from the manual's general description (PDF p. 11, "magazine-fed, recoil-operated pistol"), which also describes the tilting-barrel locked breech. `system` carries "Secure Action", Ruger's trademarked name for the fire-control system as printed on the spec sheet, on the same footing as Glock's "Safe Action". Trigger action is unset: the launch release says the Secure Action combines the LCP's pull "with the short, crisp feel and positive reset of a single action", which is a similarity claim about feel (the HK VP9 "single action type break" rule), and the manual describes the hammer as "automatically cocked by the motion of the slide" in one step and "partially cocked by the slide" in the next, which does not select between sao and a precocked mode the union cannot express (the CZ SFDA call). The release's "derived from the reliable and proven hammer-fired LCP fire control system" describes a different pistol and is not the ignition citation — the model-name substring trap. Year introduced is 2017, from Ruger's launch release "The All New Security-9 from Ruger", dated December 22, 2017, which introduces the model with its 4 in barrel and 15-round magazine. Warranty is recorded from the manual (PDF p. 44): Ruger states it provides no written warranty, limited or full. Family is unset because the Family union has no Security-9 value, although Ruger publishes it as a series name — a vocabulary gap for a user decision. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 1:10 in RH twist with six grooves, a through-hardened alloy steel slide and alloy steel barrel, a blued barrel finish, a glass-filled nylon grip frame on an anodized aluminium chassis, two included alloy steel magazines, UPC 7-36676-03810-7, a $389.00 suggested retail price, and no California or Massachusetts approval.

Reference fields

ManufacturerRuger[2]
Manufacturer seriesSecurity-9
Firearm categoryHandgun[2]
Manufacturer chambering9mm Luger[2]
GenerationNot yet verified
Manufacturer listingListed on Ruger as model 3810, catalogue SECURITY-9[2]
IgnitionHammer-fired[3]
Operating systemRecoil-operated[3]
Slide finishBlack Oxide[2]
ControlsFixed front sight and drift-adjustable rear sight in a dovetailed sight system; external manual safety; integrated bladed trigger safety; hammer catch; front cocking serrations; textured glass-filled nylon grip frame[2]
WarrantyNo written warranty: Ruger states it has elected not to provide any written warranty, either limited or full, and refers owners to the implied warranties of their state's law[3]
MSRPNot recorded
Verification boundary: Published technical data are rounded, may not reflect manufacturing tolerances, and may change without notice. MSRP is not recorded: most cited product pages do publish a price, but it changes without notice and independently of the specification, so this directory has no field for it and the row stays blank rather than carrying a figure that would silently go stale.
Evidence tiers backing this record: Manufacturer. Unmarked values come from manufacturer documentation; any value drawn from a lower tier is labeled inline with that tier. Where two sources disagreed, the higher tier was recorded and the disagreement noted.

Sources

  1. [1]Accessed 2026-09-30
  2. [2]
    Ruger Security-9 — model 3810 spec sheetManufacturer Manufacturer spec sheet
    Accessed 2026-09-30
  3. [3]Accessed 2026-09-30
  4. [4]Accessed 2026-09-30

Common questions

Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.

01What caliber is the Ruger Security-9?

The Ruger Security-9 is chambered in 9x19mm Parabellum. Ruger writes it as 9mm Luger. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.

02How many rounds does the Ruger Security-9 hold?

Ruger lists a 15-round standard magazine for the Security-9. Ruger lists no optional capacities for this record. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.

03What is the barrel length of the Ruger Security-9?

Ruger lists a barrel length of 101 mm / 4 in.

04What are the dimensions of the Ruger Security-9?

Ruger publishes length 183, height 127 mm / length 7.24, height 5 in (height: magazine state not stated by Ruger; width not published). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.

05How much does the Ruger Security-9 weigh?

Ruger publishes 674 g / 23.8 oz (magazine state not stated by Ruger).

06Is the Ruger Security-9 striker-fired?

Hammer-fired. Ruger publishes this as "Secure Action". This is recorded from the manufacturer's own classification rather than inferred from the mechanism.

07When was the Ruger Security-9 introduced?

2017, per the source cited on this record. Where a manufacturer publishes no dated announcement, this directory records no year rather than estimating one.

08Does the Ruger Security-9 have a warranty?

Ruger states: No written warranty: Ruger states it has elected not to provide any written warranty, either limited or full, and refers owners to the implied warranties of their state's law. Terms are as published at the date this record was checked and may vary by region.