Ruger Mark IV Standard
Ruger lists the Mark IV Standard as a .22 LR rimfire pistol with a 4.75 in tapered barrel, a blued alloy steel construction on an aluminium grip frame, fixed front and rear sights, one-button takedown and a 10-round magazine.
Show the full noteHide the full note
THE PAGE MARKETS TWO MODELS AND EMBEDS A SPEC OBJECT FOR ONE. Model 40105 is the same Standard with a 6 in barrel, shown on the same page at the same $579 MSRP, and Ruger publishes no specification object for it, so its dimensions are not available here and it is a separate listing under the base-model rule. The extractor now warns when a page displays catalogue numbers it has no spec object for, because "1 catalogue entry" otherwise reads as "Ruger lists one model here" — which is false, and which would scope a record to the wrong catalogue silently. The wider Mark IV family — Target, Hunter, Competition, Tactical, the 22/45 and 22/45 Lite — are separate product keys entirely. THE SLIDE FINISH IS DELIBERATELY UNSET AND THE REASON IS RUGER'S OWN DATA MODEL. Ruger's JSON carries BOTH a firearm-level `finish` and a slide-specific `slide_finish`; here `finish` is "Blued" and `slide_finish` is EMPTY. Recording Blued as a slide finish would fill a slide-specific field from a firearm-level one while the maker's own slide field sits blank — and this pistol has an internal cylindrical bolt rather than a conventional slide, which the page describes. Contrast the RXM, whose `slide_finish` Ruger does populate ("Black FNC Nitride") and whose record sets the field on that basis: the two Ruger records differ because Ruger's data differs, not because the rule changed. Year introduced is Ruger's own `introDate` of 2017-09-05, the same field the RXM record uses, so it is footnoted to the product page rather than to a launch release. Ignition, trigger action and operating system are all unset, as on the RXM: Ruger's `action` field reads "Rimfire", which is a cartridge class rather than any of the three axes, and the page never describes the mechanism. NOTE ONE SUBSTRING TRAP THIS PAGE SETS: the word "hammer" appears once, in "cold hammer-forged barrel" — a manufacturing process, not an ignition mechanism, and not a citation for anything. Warranty is unrecorded, following the RXM: Ruger's customer-service pages carry no warranty statement, and this page contains no occurrence of the word. Height and weight carry basis notes because Ruger does not say whether either includes a magazine. Ruger publishes imperial only, so every metric value here is converted and flagged. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 1:16 twist with 6 grooves, an alloy steel construction with an aluminium grip frame, checkered synthetic grips, a tapered barrel, an internal lock, UPC 7-36676-40104-8, and the $579.00 MSRP. Ruger's data also carries an explicit `discontinued` flag, which reads 0 for this model — the one maker here that states production status outright, though the directory records no such field.
Reference fields
| Manufacturer | Ruger[1] |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer series | Mark IV |
| Firearm category | Handgun[1] |
| Manufacturer chambering | 22 LR[1] |
| Generation | Not yet verified |
| Manufacturer listing | Listed on Ruger as model 40104, catalogue name STANDARD[1] |
| Slide finish | Not yet verified |
| Controls | Fixed front and rear sights; one-button takedown releasing the barrel-receiver assembly without tools; checkered synthetic grip panels on a one-piece CNC-machined aluminium grip frame; ergonomic bolt stop; internal lock[1] |
| Warranty | Not yet verified |
| MSRP | Not recorded |
Sources
- [1]Ruger Mark IV Standard — model 40104 specificationsManufacturer Manufacturer product pageAccessed 2026-08-12
Common questions
Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.
01What caliber is the Ruger Mark IV Standard?
The Ruger Mark IV Standard is chambered in .22 LR. Ruger writes it as 22 LR. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.
02How many rounds does the Ruger Mark IV Standard hold?
Ruger lists a 10-round standard magazine for the Mark IV Standard. Ruger lists no optional capacities for this record. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.
03What is the barrel length of the Ruger Mark IV Standard?
Ruger lists a barrel length of ≈120.6 mm / 4.75 in.
04What are the dimensions of the Ruger Mark IV Standard?
Ruger publishes ≈228.6 × 30.5 × 137.2 mm / 9 × 1.2 × 5.4 in (height: magazine state not stated by Ruger). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.
05How much does the Ruger Mark IV Standard weigh?
Ruger publishes ≈799 g / 28.2 oz (magazine state not stated by Ruger).
06When was the Ruger Mark IV Standard introduced?
2017, per the source cited on this record. Where a manufacturer publishes no dated announcement, this directory records no year rather than estimating one.