Directory / Ruger / .38 Special / LCR / LCR
Entry 56 of 70Submit a correction
handgun

Ruger LCR

Ruger lists the LCR as a five-shot .38 Spl +P revolver with a 1.875 in barrel, a matte black finish over a stainless steel construction with a PVD-finished cylinder, a pinned ramp front sight with an integral U-notch rear, and Hogue Tamer Monogrip grips.

Scope note: Model 5401, the matte black .38 Spl +P LCR, and THE FIRST REVOLVER IN THE DIRECTORY — which is worth stating because several fields shaped by twelve semi-automatic records read differently here.
Show the full noteHide the full note

Chambering: `.38 Special` was added to the union on a user decision; "+P" is a pressure rating this revolver is rated for rather than a separate cartridge, so it stays in the maker's wording and out of the grouping field. Ruger's page also names .357 Magnum, 9mm Luger and .327 Federal Magnum LCR models, all separate listings under the base-model rule, as are the LCRx and the .22 LR and .22 WMR models. TRIGGER ACTION IS UNSET, AND THIS IS A NEW REASON FOR THAT ROW TO BE EMPTY. Ruger's structured `action` field reads "Double-Action", which is recorded verbatim in `system` — but "Double-Action" does not distinguish double-action-only from a double/single revolver with a hammer spur, and Ruger's own site uses exactly that word as a top-level category, splitting its revolvers into Double-Action and Single-Action. So the value is a category rather than a trigger mode, and neither `dao` nor `da/sa` can be selected from it. Note the difference from the Taurus G3c, whose row is empty because the directory has no value for what Taurus published: here the directory has both candidate values and the SOURCE does not discriminate between them. Ruger states nothing about this revolver being hammerless, and the only other occurrence of "Double-Action" on the page is the navigation menu — the substring trap that has now appeared six times. Ignition and operating system are unset: Ruger classifies neither, and a revolver's cycling is not among the union's values in any case. WEIGHT SITS IN `weightUnloaded` FOR A REASON THAT FIELD WAS NOT WRITTEN FOR. Its discriminating question is whether the source says a magazine is fitted; a revolver has no magazine at all, so the question does not apply rather than being unanswered. The value is Ruger's published 13.50 oz with the basis recording that Ruger states no measurement basis, which is the same treatment the RXM, Mark IV and LCP MAX get. Overall height carries the same note. Slide finish is unset: a revolver has no slide, and Ruger publishes a firearm-level finish of Matte Black plus a cylinder finish of PVD — recording the cylinder finish in a slide field would be the Mark IV error in a sharper form, since here there is no slide to describe. Year introduced is 2009, from the `introDate` of 2009-01-14 embedded in the page's own spec object, and unlike the LCP MAX's date this one is safe to read as the model's: 5401 is the LCR's original catalogue number rather than a later addition, which is the check that record's notes require. WHAT RUGER DISPLAYS BUT DOES NOT SPECIFY: the page shows six further catalogue numbers — 5410, 5418, 5450, 5452, 5456 and 5470 — with no spec object, so their dimensions are not on this page and 5401's must not be carried across to them, the rule the LCP MAX record established inside a single page. Warranty is unrecorded: Ruger publishes none, and the word "warranty" appears zero times on this page, consistent with the RXM, Mark IV and LCP MAX records. Frame class is unset because Ruger publishes no size class, as on its other three records. Ruger publishes imperial only, so every metric value here is converted by this directory and flagged. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 1:16 twist with six grooves, a stainless steel material with a PVD-finished cylinder, Hogue Tamer Monogrip grips, the UPC 7-36676-05401-5, a $759.00 MSRP, and a "limited availability" flag — which is NOT recorded as a production status, since this directory makes no production claim either way (the G37/G38/G39 rule). KNOWN DEFECT ON THIS PAGE, LEFT UNFIXED DELIBERATELY: two row LABELS name parts a revolver does not have. "Magazine capacity" heads the five-round cylinder capacity, and "Slide finish" renders "Not yet verified" for a gun with no slide — the second is the same falsehood as the size-class row fixed on 2026-08-13, a blank promising a value that cannot arrive. The values themselves are right; only the labels assume a self-loader. Fixing it needs the page to know what kind of firearm it is rendering, and `firearmType` is currently the single value "handgun", so this is the same schema question Wave 04's long guns raise and belongs with that decision rather than being patched per-row here.

Reference fields

ManufacturerRuger[1]
Manufacturer seriesLCR
Firearm categoryHandgun[1]
Manufacturer chambering38 Spl +P[1]
GenerationNot yet verified
Manufacturer listingListed on Ruger as model 5401, catalogue name LCR — the only one of seven catalogue numbers on the page carrying a specification object[1]
Slide finishNot yet verified
ControlsReplaceable pinned ramp front sight with an integral U-notch rear; Hogue Tamer Monogrip grips on a stainless steel frame with a PVD-finished cylinder[1]
WarrantyNot yet verified
MSRPNot recorded
Verification boundary: Published technical data are rounded, may not reflect manufacturing tolerances, and may change without notice. MSRP is not recorded: most cited product pages do publish a price, but it changes without notice and independently of the specification, so this directory has no field for it and the row stays blank rather than carrying a figure that would silently go stale. Values marked ≈ were converted by this directory from the unit system the source published; the unmarked figure in the same row is the published one.
Evidence tiers backing this record: Manufacturer. Unmarked values come from manufacturer documentation; any value drawn from a lower tier is labeled inline with that tier. Where two sources disagreed, the higher tier was recorded and the disagreement noted.

Sources

  1. [1]
    Ruger LCR — model 5401 specificationsManufacturer Manufacturer product page
    Accessed 2026-08-13

Common questions

Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.

01What caliber is the Ruger LCR?

The Ruger LCR is chambered in .38 Special. Ruger writes it as 38 Spl +P. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.

02How many rounds does the Ruger LCR hold?

Ruger lists a 5-round standard magazine for the LCR. Ruger lists no optional capacities for this record. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.

03What is the barrel length of the Ruger LCR?

Ruger lists a barrel length of ≈47.6 mm / 1.875 in.

04What are the dimensions of the Ruger LCR?

Ruger publishes ≈165.1 × 32.6 × 114.3 mm / 6.5 × 1.283 × 4.5 in (height: measurement basis not stated by Ruger). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.

05How much does the Ruger LCR weigh?

Ruger publishes ≈383 g / 13.5 oz (measurement basis not stated by Ruger; a revolver has no magazine, so the magazine question this field usually settles does not arise).

06Is the Ruger LCR striker-fired?

Ruger publishes "Double-Action" as its own name for the action and does not classify an ignition type for the LCR. This directory records the manufacturer's wording and leaves the ignition field empty rather than inferring a classification the source does not state.

07When was the Ruger LCR introduced?

2009, per the source cited on this record. Where a manufacturer publishes no dated announcement, this directory records no year rather than estimating one.