Directory / Ruger / .357 Magnum / GP100 / GP100 Standard
Entry 71 of 100Submit a correction
handgun

Ruger GP100 Standard

Ruger lists the GP100 Standard model 1707 as a six-shot .357 Magnum double-action revolver with a 6 in barrel, a satin stainless steel construction, a ramp front sight with an adjustable rear sight, a triple-locking cylinder and Hogue Monogrip grips.

Scope note: Model 1707, catalogue KGP-161: the 6 in satin stainless .357 Magnum GP100 with an adjustable rear sight.
Show the full noteHide the full note

WHY THIS CATALOGUE NUMBER: Ruger's GP100 Standard page displays 24 catalogue numbers (1702, 1704, 1705, 1707, 1715, 1753, 1757, 1759, 1762, 1763, 1768–1774, 1777, 1780, 1782–1784, 1789, 1790) and embeds a specification object for exactly one of them, 1707. Every displayed model also links its own spec sheet, so the single-object rule the LCP MAX record relied on no longer forces the choice; 1707 is recorded because it is the configuration Ruger's own page presents as its specification record, the same test the RXM, Mark IV, LCP MAX and LCR records apply. The other 23 — 19 further .357 Magnum configurations plus one each in .327 Federal Magnum, .44 Special, 10mm Auto and .22 LR, across other barrel lengths, finishes, sights and distributor exclusives — are separate listings under the base-model rule, and none of 1707's figures may be carried across to them. The GP100 Match Champion and Super GP100 are separate product keys entirely. THE MEASUREMENTS COME FROM RUGER'S PER-MODEL SPEC SHEET, NOT FROM THE MODELS-PAGE JSON, AND THAT CHANGES WHAT IS CONVERTED. The earlier Ruger records say Ruger publishes imperial only; that is true of the JSON object on the models page and false of the spec sheet linked from it (specSheets/1707.html), which prints every length and the weight in both systems. So no value on this record is directory-converted. Ruger prints metric in centimetres and kilograms (29.2 cm, 15.2 cm, 1.27 kg), re-expressed here as 292 mm, 152 mm and 1270 g, which is a decimal shift within one system rather than a conversion. Ruger's metric figures are truncated rather than rounded: 11.50 in is 292.1 mm and 45 oz is 1275.7 g, so the two published systems differ slightly within each row. Both are recorded as published and neither is flagged, the CZ Shadow 2 rule — `converted` means this directory derived a figure, and it derived none. The JSON and the spec sheet agree on every imperial figure (6.000 in barrel, 11.500 in length, 45.000 oz). OVERALL WIDTH AND HEIGHT ARE UNRECORDED BECAUSE RUGER DOES NOT PUBLISH THEM. The JSON carries `width: 0.000` and `height: 0.000`, which are placeholders — a revolver has neither dimension at zero — and the spec sheet prints no width or height row at all. `execution/extract_ruger_specs.py` prints those zeros as though they were values, because it filters only empty strings and nulls; they are not recorded. TRIGGER ACTION IS da/sa, AND IT COMES FROM THE MANUAL RATHER THAN THE PAGE. Ruger's structured `action` field reads "Double-Action", which the LCR record established is a catalogue shelf spanning both dao and da/sa and cannot select either. The GP100 instruction manual discriminates: its loading-and-firing procedure (PDF p. 17, step 3) says the revolver "is now ready to fire, either 'double action' by pulling the trigger through its complete arc for each shot, or 'single action' by cocking the hammer and then pulling the trigger for each shot". That is an operating instruction for this revolver, not the generic caution box on the same page ("This characteristic is found in all modern double action revolvers"), which is the Colt Python distinction between the section describing your gun and the section teaching how guns work. `system` carries the manual's clause verbatim, and `triggerActionSource` footnotes both action rows to the manual. Ignition and operating system are unset: the manual names a hammer, a transfer bar and a firing pin ("the hammer blow can be transmitted to the firing pin only when the trigger is pulled all the way to the rear", PDF p. 11) without classifying the ignition, which is the call the Colt Python record makes on the same kind of wording, and a revolver's cycling is not among the operating-system union's values. WARRANTY IS RECORDED, AND IT IS A STATEMENT THAT THERE IS NONE. The earlier Ruger records omit the field because Ruger's web pages never mention a warranty. The manual does, explicitly (PDF p. 44, "Why no warranty card has been packed with this new Ruger firearm"): Ruger "has elected not to provide any written warranty, either 'limited' or 'full'" and refers owners to implied warranties under state law. That is a positive manufacturer statement rather than a negative inferred from an absent page, so it is recorded, footnoted to the manual. Year introduced is unrecorded: the JSON's `introDate` reads 1000-01-01, a placeholder rather than a date, and Ruger's online news archive (which reaches back to 2001) holds no GP100 launch release. Family is unset because the directory's Family union has no GP100 value; Ruger does publish the series name (its JSON `line` field reads "GP100®"), so this is a gap in the directory's vocabulary rather than the maker's, and adding the value is a user decision. Frame class is unset because Ruger publishes no size class. Weight sits in `weightUnloaded` on the LCR's reasoning: Ruger states no basis, and a revolver has no magazine. The manual says that "some" GP100 revolvers will chamber .357 Magnum, .38 Special +P and .38 Special; that sentence is hedged across models and is not recorded as a fact about 1707. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 1:18.75 in RH twist with five grooves, a stainless steel construction with a satin stainless finish, Hogue Monogrip grips, UPC 7-36676-01707-2, a $1,109.00 suggested retail price, California and Massachusetts approval, and a "limited availability" flag, which is not a production-status claim.

Reference fields

ManufacturerRuger[2]
Manufacturer seriesGP100
Firearm categoryHandgun[2]
Manufacturer chambering357 Mag[2]
GenerationNot yet verified
Manufacturer listingListed on Ruger as model 1707, catalogue KGP-161 — the one catalogue number of 24 on the GP100 Standard page carrying an embedded specification object[2]
Trigger actionDouble-action / single-action[3]
Slide finishNot yet verified
ControlsRamp front sight with an adjustable rear sight; Hogue Monogrip grips; triple-locking cylinder locked into the frame at the front, rear and bottom; transfer bar mechanism[2]
WarrantyNo written warranty: Ruger states it has elected not to provide any written warranty, either limited or full, and refers owners to the implied warranties of their state's law[3]
MSRPNot recorded
Verification boundary: Published technical data are rounded, may not reflect manufacturing tolerances, and may change without notice. MSRP is not recorded: most cited product pages do publish a price, but it changes without notice and independently of the specification, so this directory has no field for it and the row stays blank rather than carrying a figure that would silently go stale.
Evidence tiers backing this record: Manufacturer. Unmarked values come from manufacturer documentation; any value drawn from a lower tier is labeled inline with that tier. Where two sources disagreed, the higher tier was recorded and the disagreement noted.

Sources

  1. [1]Accessed 2026-09-30
  2. [2]
    Ruger GP100 — model 1707 (KGP-161) spec sheetManufacturer Manufacturer spec sheet
    Accessed 2026-09-30
  3. [3]Accessed 2026-09-30

Common questions

Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.

01What caliber is the Ruger GP100 Standard?

The Ruger GP100 Standard is chambered in .357 Magnum. Ruger writes it as 357 Mag. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.

02How many rounds does the Ruger GP100 Standard hold?

Ruger lists a 6-round standard magazine for the GP100 Standard. Ruger lists no optional capacities for this record. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.

03What is the barrel length of the Ruger GP100 Standard?

Ruger lists a barrel length of 152 mm / 6 in.

04What are the dimensions of the Ruger GP100 Standard?

Ruger publishes length 292 mm / length 11.5 in (width and height not published). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.

05How much does the Ruger GP100 Standard weigh?

Ruger publishes 1270 g / 45 oz (measurement basis not stated by Ruger; a revolver has no magazine, so the magazine question this field usually settles does not arise).

06Is the Ruger GP100 Standard striker-fired?

Ruger publishes "either "double action" by pulling the trigger through its complete arc for each shot, or "single action" by cocking the hammer and then pulling the trigger for each shot" as its own name for the action and does not classify an ignition type for the GP100 Standard. This directory records the manufacturer's wording and leaves the ignition field empty rather than inferring a classification the source does not state.

07Does the Ruger GP100 Standard have a warranty?

Ruger states: No written warranty: Ruger states it has elected not to provide any written warranty, either limited or full, and refers owners to the implied warranties of their state's law. Terms are as published at the date this record was checked and may vary by region.