Directory / Ruger / 9x19mm Parabellum / EC9s
Entry 100 of 100Submit a correction
handgun

Ruger EC9s

Ruger's last published listing for the EC9s model 3283 describes a striker-fired 9mm Luger pistol with a 3.12 in barrel, a 7-round magazine, sights machined into a black oxide through-hardened alloy steel slide, a black glass-filled nylon grip frame, and a manual safety.

Scope note: Model 3283, catalogue EC9S: the black 7-round EC9s with sights machined into the slide, a black oxide slide and a black glass-filled nylon grip frame.
Show the full noteHide the full note

THIS RECORD IS BUILT FROM WEB ARCHIVE CAPTURES OF RUGER'S OWN PAGES, BECAUSE RUGER NO LONGER SERVES THEM. On 2026-09-30 both ruger.com/products/ec9s/models.html and the model 3283 spec sheet redirect to Ruger's 404 page, and the EC9s entries in the site navigation are commented out in the HTML of every current Ruger page. The Web Archive's last HTTP 200 capture of the models page is 2025-09-18, and the next capture, 2025-10-14, is already a redirect. The spec sheet's last 200 capture is 2025-03-28. Both were content-checked (a real page carrying the model data, not a challenge or a soft-404 shell). This is the Colt Government Model case, not the HK VP9 case: nothing live can supersede these captures, so they are the record as last published. NO PRODUCTION CLAIM IS MADE EITHER WAY. The 2025-09-18 JSON carries `discontinued: "0"` and the page shows "Limited Availability", the 2025-03-28 spec sheet shows "Available", and the page has since been withdrawn. None of these states production status, and the directory draws no conclusion from them (the G37/G38/G39 and Walther PPK rules). WHY THIS CATALOGUE NUMBER: the 2025-09-18 models page displays seven catalogue numbers (3283, 13201, 13211, 3290, 3295, 3297, 13200) and embeds a specification object for exactly one of them, 3283, the same test every Ruger record applies. The other six are colour and distributor configurations (a gray, a silver Cerakote, a purple and a turquoise grip frame, a flat dark earth grip frame, and 13211, which also has a black frame and black oxide slide at a higher price) and are separate listings under the base-model rule. The archive also holds spec sheets for 3285–3289, 3291, 3296, 3298, 13202, 13203 and 13213, which the 2025 page no longer displays. None of these was used, and none of 3283's figures may be carried across to them. The LCP MAX check on the date was run: the earliest capture of the models page (2018-02-07) displays 3283 alone, with the same `introDate` of 2017-12-11, so this catalogue number is the model's original one, and the year is the model's, not a later SKU's. YEAR INTRODUCED is 2017, from that `introDate` field on the models page, footnoted to it. Ruger's news index (845 releases back to 2001, read 2026-09-30) holds no EC9s launch release. Its only EC9s release is "Ruger Introduces New Colors to the Popular EC9s Line" (August 7, 2019), which adds four colour configurations and does not date the model. MEASUREMENTS ARE FROM THE ARCHIVED MODEL 3283 SPEC SHEET, WHICH PUBLISHES BOTH UNIT SYSTEMS, so nothing on this record is converted. Ruger prints length and height in centimetres (15.2 cm, 11.4 cm), re-expressed here as 152 mm and 114 mm. That is a decimal shift within one system, not a conversion. Ruger truncates its metric rather than rounding it, and here that moves two figures by a whole unit: 0.90 in is printed 22 mm, where the directory's helper gives 22.9, and 17.2 oz is printed 487 g, where the helper gives 488. Also 3.12 in is printed 79 mm (helper 79.2), 6 in 15.2 cm (152.4 mm) and 4.50 in 11.4 cm (114.3 mm). Both systems are recorded as published and neither is flagged (the CZ rule). The spec sheet's figures agree with the models-page JSON on every row (length 6.000, width 0.900, height 4.500, weight 17.200, barrel 3.120, capacity 7), and the 2023-05-31 and 2024-09-17 captures of the same spec sheet print identical values. OVERALL WIDTH IS RECORDED, UNLIKE ON THE SECURITY-9, MAX-9, RXM AND LCP MAX, because this spec sheet labels the figure plain "Width" (0.90 in / 22 mm), not "Slide Width". The template was checked for the same period, so the plain label is not just an older wording: 2025 captures of the Security-9 (2025-02-07) and MAX-9 (2025-07-16) spec sheets already print "Slide Width". Ruger was therefore distinguishing the two labels while this sheet said "Width", and all three EC9s captures say "Width". This is the Mark IV case. Ruger states no basis for the width, and the directory reads its own label as written. Height and weight carry basis notes because Ruger states no magazine state for either. ACTION AXES: ignition is striker-fired, stated on the spec sheet itself ("Striker-fired with a short, light, crisp trigger pull for faster, more accurate shooting") and repeated on the models page and in the 2019 release. `system` carries the spec sheet's "Striker-fired". Operating system is recoil-operated, footnoted to the manual, AND IT REACHES THIS PISTOL THROUGH THE MANUAL'S OWN APPLICABILITY STATEMENT, WHICH A READER SHOULD SEE. Ruger publishes one combined manual, "Ruger LC9s & EC9s Lightweight Compact Pistols" (CF 9/2024 R13), which the EC9s page links as its instruction manual. Its general description (PDF p. 11) names only the LC9s: "a compact, centerfire, single-strike, striker fired, magazine-fed, autoloading, recoil-operated pistol". Its first page states: "With the exception of non-adjustable sights, the EC9s Pistol has the same operational characteristics as the LC9s Pistol. All other references to the LC9s Pistol apply to the EC9s Pistol." So the maker itself extends that description to the EC9s, in the EC9s's own manual. This is not the directory carrying a value across from the LC9s, which is a separate pistol and from which nothing else on this record comes. Trigger action is unset. The spec sheet classifies the trigger nowhere, and "single-strike" is not a mode the union carries. The manual's firing procedure (PDF p. 16) describes a striker left "semi-cocked" by the slide, which a full trigger pull "fully cocks and releases". That is a precocked mode the union cannot express, the CZ SFDA call and the MAX-9 position. Note also a contradiction inside the manual: its loading step on the same page says the striker "automatically moves to the fully cocked position as the slide moves forward". That is a second reason the manual cannot settle this axis. FRAME CLASS IS UNSET. Ruger calls the pistol "compact" in every document that describes it: the spec sheet and models page say "Slim, lightweight and compact", the manual's cover says "Lightweight Compact Pistols", and the 2019 release says "lightweight, compact and slim design". None of these is a size-class field. Ruger uses the same adjective for pistols the directory would file in different classes, and this very spec sheet calls the LCP "incredibly compact" in the next clause. It also calls the MAX-9 and Security-9 compact, whose records leave frame class unset on the same reasoning. The nav "Compact" bucket was rejected on 2026-08-16. Warranty is recorded from the manual (PDF p. 44): Ruger states it provides no written warranty, limited or full. Family is unset: the orchestrator assigns series names, and Ruger's JSON `line` field reads "EC9s". Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 1:10 in RH twist with six grooves, a through-hardened alloy steel slide and an alloy steel barrel in black oxide, a black glass-filled nylon grip frame, one 7-round magazine with a finger grip extension floorplate, UPC 7-36676-03283-9, and no California or Massachusetts approval. The price is not recorded either: $349.00 in the 2025 captures and $299.00 in the 2018 capture.

Reference fields

ManufacturerRuger[3]
Manufacturer seriesEC9s
Firearm categoryHandgun[3]
Manufacturer chambering9mm Luger[3]
GenerationNot yet verified
Manufacturer listingListed on Ruger as model 3283, catalogue EC9S (archived listing; Ruger no longer serves the EC9s pages as of 2026-09-30)[3]
IgnitionStriker-fired[3]
Operating systemRecoil-operated[4]
Slide finishBlack Oxide[3]
ControlsIntegral sights machined into the slide with glare-reducing, rear-facing serrations; manual safety; integrated trigger safety; magazine disconnect; loaded-chamber inspection port; checkered glass-filled nylon grip frame; finger grip extension floorplate included for the magazine[3]
WarrantyNo written warranty: Ruger states it has elected not to provide any written warranty, either limited or full, and refers owners to the implied warranties of their state's law[4]
MSRPNot recorded
Verification boundary: Published technical data are rounded, may not reflect manufacturing tolerances, and may change without notice. MSRP is not recorded: most cited product pages do publish a price, but it changes without notice and independently of the specification, so this directory has no field for it and the row stays blank rather than carrying a figure that would silently go stale.
Evidence tiers backing this record: Manufacturer. Unmarked values come from manufacturer documentation; any value drawn from a lower tier is labeled inline with that tier. Where two sources disagreed, the higher tier was recorded and the disagreement noted.

Sources

  1. [1]Accessed 2026-09-30 · Captured 2025-09-18 from https://ruger.com/products/ec9s/models.html
  2. [2]
    Ruger EC9s — models page, earliest capture (displays model 3283 alone, introDate 2017-12-11)Manufacturer Manufacturer product page (Web Archive capture) · Web Archive capture
    Accessed 2026-09-30 · Captured 2018-02-07 from http://ruger.com/products/ec9s/models.html
  3. [3]
    Ruger EC9s — model 3283 spec sheetManufacturer Manufacturer spec sheet (Web Archive capture) · Web Archive capture
    Accessed 2026-09-30 · Captured 2025-03-28 from https://ruger.com/products/ec9s/specSheets/3283.html
  4. [4]Accessed 2026-09-30
  5. [5]Accessed 2026-09-30

Common questions

Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.

01What caliber is the Ruger EC9s?

The Ruger EC9s is chambered in 9x19mm Parabellum. Ruger writes it as 9mm Luger. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.

02How many rounds does the Ruger EC9s hold?

Ruger lists a 7-round standard magazine for the EC9s. Ruger lists no optional capacities for this record. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.

03What is the barrel length of the Ruger EC9s?

Ruger lists a barrel length of 79 mm / 3.12 in.

04What are the dimensions of the Ruger EC9s?

Ruger publishes 152 × 22 × 114 mm / 6 × 0.9 × 4.5 in (height: magazine state not stated by Ruger). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.

05How much does the Ruger EC9s weigh?

Ruger publishes 487 g / 17.2 oz (magazine state not stated by Ruger).

06Is the Ruger EC9s striker-fired?

Striker-fired. Ruger publishes this as "Striker-fired". This is recorded from the manufacturer's own classification rather than inferred from the mechanism.

07When was the Ruger EC9s introduced?

2017, per the source cited on this record. Where a manufacturer publishes no dated announcement, this directory records no year rather than estimating one.

08Does the Ruger EC9s have a warranty?

Ruger states: No written warranty: Ruger states it has elected not to provide any written warranty, either limited or full, and refers owners to the implied warranties of their state's law. Terms are as published at the date this record was checked and may vary by region.