Directory / Heritage Manufacturing / .22 LR / Rough Rider / Rough Rider (4.75")
Entry 78 of 100Submit a correction
handgun

Heritage Manufacturing Rough Rider (4.75")

Heritage Manufacturing lists the 4.75 in Rough Rider as a six-shot, single-action-only .22 LR revolver with an alloy steel barrel and cylinder, a black oxide zinc alloy frame, cocobolo grips, a fixed front sight with a rear notch, and a manual safety.

Scope note: Item RR22B4, the 4.75 in .22 LR Rough Rider in Black Standard (black oxide) with cocobolo grips, and the first Heritage Manufacturing record.
Show the full noteHide the full note

The maker's name is as its own footer and warranty present it ("Heritage Manufacturing, Inc.", Bainbridge, GA); its site title abbreviates to "Heritage Mfg". Heritage names the product "4.75″ Rough Rider®", with the barrel length in the model name, so the record's model name keeps it — the Colt Python (6") convention. Base choice: Heritage lists dozens of Rough Rider configurations and no one of them is designated standard; RR22B4 is the plain black .22 LR-only 4.75 in gun with the shortest item number in that barrel length, and the 4.75 in siblings that were checked (RR22B4-BBK, RR22B4BP, RR22B4-DMH, RR22999CH4) publish identical overall length, width, height and barrel. Separate listings under the base-model rule: the 3.5, 6.5, 9, 12 and 16 in barrels; every two-cylinder .22 LR/.22 WMR combo (the 4.75 in RR22MB4 publishes 30.60 oz against this gun's 30.10); the nine-shot and adjustable-sight models; the steel-frame models; the simulated case-hardened, two-tone, satin and Cerakote finishes and the many grip variants; the .32 H&R model; and the Rough Rider Rancher carbine, which is a long gun and outside the directory's handgun-only type. Family is unset: Heritage's navigation treats "Heritage Rough Rider" as a series, but it is not a value in the Family union and adding one is a user decision. Chambering is .22 LR only — the page's prose says "This version is chambered in .22 LR" — normalized from Heritage's "22 LR" exactly as on the TaurusTX 22. TRIGGER ACTION IS TRANSCRIPTION: the page publishes "Action Type: SAO", which is kept verbatim in `system` and normalizes to sao, and the manual's table ("Action: SA") and the page's prose ("a single-action rimfire revolver") agree. Ignition and operating system are unset: the manual describes a hammer and a manual hammer block but classifies neither axis (the Colt Python call), and a revolver's cycling is not among the operating-system union's values. Heritage publishes no size class for this model, so frameSize and manufacturerSizeLabel are both unset — a fact about the maker, per the directive's frame-class edge case. THE MANUAL DISAGREES WITH THE PAGE ON FOUR OF FIVE MEASUREMENTS, AND THE PAGE GOVERNS. The Rough Rider small-bore manual's specification table (p. 11) covers five barrel lengths in one row each; its 4.75 in column gives a 10 in overall length (page 10.03 in), a 4.852 in height (page 5.25 in, about 10 mm apart), a 1.436 in width (page 1.50 in) and 30.6 oz (page 30.10 oz), agreeing only on the barrel. Two things make the page the better reading of the two same-tier sources rather than a coin toss: every 4.75 in listing checked repeats the page's figures, and the manual's 30.6 oz is exactly the page figure for the two-cylinder RR22MB4 combo, which suggests the manual's column describes a different configuration. Current page governs, manual disclosed, as on the G29 Gen5. Its 3.5 in column matches the 3.5 in listing exactly (8.78 in, 28 oz), so the manual is not unreliable wholesale. A DEFECT IN HERITAGE'S OWN DATA, NOT RECORDED EITHER WAY: this page publishes "Cylinders Included: 2" for a gun its own prose calls .22 LR-only, while RR22B4-BBK and RR22B4BP publish 1 and RR22B4-DMH publishes 2; there is no schema field for cylinder count, so nothing rests on it, but it is the row a reader comparing listings will notice. Weight sits in weightUnloaded as "30.10 Oz. (Unloaded)", and a revolver has no magazine (the LCR treatment); overall height carries a basis note. Slide finish is unset because a revolver has no slide; Heritage's black oxide barrel, frame and cylinder finishes are named in `controls` instead. WARRANTY IS FROM THE MODEL-SPECIFIC MANUAL, AND HERITAGE'S FAQ ANSWERS THE WARRANTY QUESTION WITH ANOTHER BRAND'S TERMS. The manual's LIMITED WARRANTY section (p. 30) names the Rough Rider and grants one year to the original retail purchaser, terminating on transfer; Heritage's Repair Policy page states the same one-year term for "All Heritage Manufacturing Firearms" and adds that the factory registration card must be sent in to obtain coverage — a condition the manual does not state, so it is noted here rather than folded into a row footnoted to the manual. Heritage's FAQ, under the heading "What is the Heritage Revolver lifetime repair policy?", reproduces Rossi/Braztech revolver warranty text and names no Heritage product; it is not recorded and is not treated as a conflicting Heritage term. Year introduced is unrecorded: Heritage's pages describe the Rough Rider's heritage but date nothing, and the Web Archive was not reachable during this session. Heritage publishes imperial only, so every metric value is converted by this directory and flagged. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 1:14 right-hand twist with six grooves, a zinc alloy frame ("Zamak 5" in the manual), alloy steel barrel and cylinder, and the $165.99 MSRP.

Reference fields

ManufacturerHeritage Manufacturing[1]
Manufacturer seriesRough Rider
Firearm categoryHandgun[1]
Manufacturer chambering22 LR[1]
GenerationNot yet verified
Manufacturer listingListed on Heritage Manufacturing as item RR22B4, UPC 7-27962-50020-0[1]
Trigger actionSingle-action only[1]
Slide finishNot yet verified
ControlsFixed front sight with a notch rear sight; manual safety; cocobolo grips on a black oxide zinc alloy frame with an alloy steel cylinder[1]
WarrantyOne-year limited warranty to the original retail purchaser against defects in material, function and workmanship; terminates automatically on transfer[2]
MSRPNot recorded
Verification boundary: Published technical data are rounded, may not reflect manufacturing tolerances, and may change without notice. MSRP is not recorded: most cited product pages do publish a price, but it changes without notice and independently of the specification, so this directory has no field for it and the row stays blank rather than carrying a figure that would silently go stale. Values marked ≈ were converted by this directory from the unit system the source published; the unmarked figure in the same row is the published one.
Evidence tiers backing this record: Manufacturer. Unmarked values come from manufacturer documentation; any value drawn from a lower tier is labeled inline with that tier. Where two sources disagreed, the higher tier was recorded and the disagreement noted.

Sources

  1. [1]Accessed 2026-09-30
  2. [2]Accessed 2026-09-30
  3. [3]Accessed 2026-09-30

Common questions

Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.

01What caliber is the Heritage Manufacturing Rough Rider (4.75")?

The Heritage Manufacturing Rough Rider (4.75") is chambered in .22 LR. Heritage Manufacturing writes it as 22 LR. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.

02How many rounds does the Heritage Manufacturing Rough Rider (4.75") hold?

Heritage Manufacturing lists a 6-round standard magazine for the Rough Rider (4.75"). Heritage Manufacturing lists no optional capacities for this record. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.

03What is the barrel length of the Heritage Manufacturing Rough Rider (4.75")?

Heritage Manufacturing lists a barrel length of ≈120.6 mm / 4.75 in.

04What are the dimensions of the Heritage Manufacturing Rough Rider (4.75")?

Heritage Manufacturing publishes ≈254.8 × 38.1 × 133.3 mm / 10.03 × 1.5 × 5.25 in (height: measurement basis not stated by Heritage). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.

05How much does the Heritage Manufacturing Rough Rider (4.75") weigh?

Heritage Manufacturing publishes ≈853 g / 30.1 oz (published as "(Unloaded)"; a revolver has no magazine, so the magazine question this field usually settles does not arise).

06Is the Heritage Manufacturing Rough Rider (4.75") striker-fired?

Heritage Manufacturing publishes "SAO" as its own name for the action and does not classify an ignition type for the Rough Rider (4.75"). This directory records the manufacturer's wording and leaves the ignition field empty rather than inferring a classification the source does not state.

07Does the Heritage Manufacturing Rough Rider (4.75") have a warranty?

Heritage Manufacturing states: One-year limited warranty to the original retail purchaser against defects in material, function and workmanship; terminates automatically on transfer. Terms are as published at the date this record was checked and may vary by region.