Directory / FN America / 5.7x28mm / Five-seveN
Entry 79 of 100Submit a correction
handgun

FN America Five-seveN

FN America lists the Five-seveN as a single-action 5.7x28mm pistol with a 4.8 in cold hammer-forged, chrome-lined barrel, a polymer frame with a MIL-STD-1913 rail, a fully ambidextrous safety lever, an adjustable rear sight and a 20-round magazine.

Scope note: Product 3868900751, the black-on-black Five-seveN shipping two 20-round magazines with the adjustable rear sight.
Show the full noteHide the full note

FN's PRODUCT DESIGNATION table on this page lists six catalogue numbers against one specification panel: 3868900751 and 3868900752 (black, 2×20 and 2×10), 3868900753 and 3868900754 (FDE, 2×20 and 2×10), and two California models, 3868929302 (black, 3×10) and 3868929352 (FDE/black, 3×10). All are separate listings under the base-model rule, as is the Five-seveN MRD, which FN catalogues on its own page with its own panel. THE DESIGNATION TABLE WAS READ BY HAND, BECAUSE `execution/extract_fn_specs.py` DID NOT PRINT IT: the extractor's designation pattern expects FN's `NN-NNNNNN` codes (66-100002 on the FN 509, 66-101408 on the Reflex), and this page uses ten-digit codes, so the tool reported no table on a page that carries one — an absence produced by the parser, not by FN. THE MRD PAGE IS THE OBVIOUS SOURCE OF A NEIGHBOURING SPEC SHEET, AND NOTHING WAS CARRIED FROM IT. The two panels were diffed: they agree on caliber, capacity, barrel length (4.8 in), overall length (8.2 in), twist, trigger pull (4.4–7.87 lb) and sight radius, and differ on four rows — operation ("Single-action" here, "Delayed blowback, Single-action only" on the MRD), weight (21 against 25.2 oz), height (5.7 against 5.6 in) and width (1.4 against 1.35 in). That disagreement is what shows the panel read here belongs to this page rather than to the carousel neighbour before it. TRIGGER ACTION IS RECORDED AS SAO. FN publishes "Operation: Single-action" and repeats "Single-action operation" in the Primary Features list. Unlike the FN 509's plain "Double-action", this word needs no contrast set to settle: in FN's own catalogue the other values are "Double-action" (FN 509) and "Double-action/Single-action" (FNX-45 Tactical), so "Single-action" picks out exactly one directory value. IGNITION IS UNSET, AND IT IS A NEAR-MISS WORTH NAMING. The page's description says the pistol is "Equipped with an internal hammer", which names a component rather than stating how the cartridge is ignited — the Springfield Hellcat call, where a Striker listed in the parts diagram was refused for the same reason, and the CZ Shadow 2's "safety notch on the hammer". The Five-seveN MRD page does state "Internal single-action hammer" and FN's 2022 MRD launch release speaks of "The internal, single-action-only hammer", but both describe the MRD, a separate record. OPERATING SYSTEM IS UNSET FOR TWO INDEPENDENT REASONS. This page states none. FN's June 13, 2022 release announcing the Five-seveN MRD says the MRD, "like its predecessor, is a 5.7x28mm-chambered, delayed blowback-operated pistol" — a statement about this pistol's predecessor made in a document about another model — and even taken as a statement about this pistol, "delayed blowback" is a gap in the directory's vocabulary rather than the source's: `OperatingSystem` has `blowback` but no delayed-blowback value, and flattening the maker's words onto `blowback` would discard the delaying mechanism, the reason the Kuna's roller-delayed value was added rather than folded into blowback. A `delayed-blowback` value is a user decision, not a transcription. WEIGHT IS FILED UNDER weightWithoutMagazine ON FN'S OWN WORDS: the panel reads "21 oz. (without mag)", which answers the field's question outright; this is the first FN record where that happens — the 509 publishes a bare figure. Overall height carries a basis note because FN does not say whether it includes a magazine. Capacity: the panel reads "10 or 20 Rd." and designates neither; this record is keyed to the 2×20 SKU, so 20 is standard and 10 is the optional figure FN also publishes, the FN 509 handling. Frame class is unset: FN publishes no size class for this pistol. Year introduced is unrecorded. The page says only that the pistol "has two decades of trusted service", a phrase rather than a date, and FN's live press-release sitemap carries no launch announcement for it: the May 7, 2021 release covers the all-FDE colourway ("This new all-FDE model... replaces the existing two-toned FDE and Black"), and the 2022 release introduces the MRD. Warranty is unrecorded: FN still publishes no terms — its FAQ, rechecked 2026-09-30, mentions a warranty only as exclusions and procedure (reloaded ammunition voids it; no registration is required), the FN 509 call. FN's robots.txt still disallows `*.pdf$`, so its owner's manual is out of scope. Chambering needs no normalization note: FN prints "5.7x28mm", the directory's own form. FN publishes imperial only, so every metric value here is converted by this directory and flagged. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 1:9 in right-hand twist, a 7.0 in sight radius, a one-piece machined steel slide with a polymer cover, a cold hammer-forged stainless barrel with a chrome-lined chamber and bore, a polymer frame with a checkered grip and serrated trigger guard, a lockable fitted hard case, and the $1,509.00 MSRP.

Reference fields

ManufacturerFN America[1]
Manufacturer seriesFive-seveN
Firearm categoryHandgun[1]
GenerationNot yet verified
Manufacturer listingListed on FN America as product 3868900751, "FN Five-seveN® Blk/Blk (2) 20-Rnd Adj Sight", UPC 845737013523 — one of six catalogue numbers on a page carrying a single specification panel[1]
Trigger actionSingle-action only[1]
Slide finishNot yet verified
ControlsFully ambidextrous safety lever; reversible magazine release; adjustable rear combat sight; front and rear cocking serrations; MIL-STD-1913 accessory mounting rail[1]
WarrantyNot yet verified
MSRPNot recorded
Verification boundary: Published technical data are rounded, may not reflect manufacturing tolerances, and may change without notice. MSRP is not recorded: most cited product pages do publish a price, but it changes without notice and independently of the specification, so this directory has no field for it and the row stays blank rather than carrying a figure that would silently go stale. Values marked ≈ were converted by this directory from the unit system the source published; the unmarked figure in the same row is the published one.
Evidence tiers backing this record: Manufacturer. Unmarked values come from manufacturer documentation; any value drawn from a lower tier is labeled inline with that tier. Where two sources disagreed, the higher tier was recorded and the disagreement noted.

Sources

  1. [1]Accessed 2026-09-30

Common questions

Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.

01What caliber is the FN America Five-seveN?

The FN America Five-seveN is chambered in 5.7x28mm. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.

02How many rounds does the FN America Five-seveN hold?

FN America lists a 20-round standard magazine for the Five-seveN. FN America also lists 10-round capacity as optional. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.

03What is the barrel length of the FN America Five-seveN?

FN America lists a barrel length of ≈121.9 mm / 4.8 in.

04What are the dimensions of the FN America Five-seveN?

FN America publishes ≈208.3 × 35.6 × 144.8 mm / 8.2 × 1.4 × 5.7 in (height: magazine state not stated by FN). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.

05How much does the FN America Five-seveN weigh?

FN America publishes ≈595 g / 21 oz (FN's own wording: "(without mag)").

06Is the FN America Five-seveN striker-fired?

FN America publishes "Single-action" as its own name for the action and does not classify an ignition type for the Five-seveN. This directory records the manufacturer's wording and leaves the ignition field empty rather than inferring a classification the source does not state.

07What is the trigger pull on the FN America Five-seveN?

FN America lists ≈19.6–35 N / 4.4–7.87 lb. A published figure is a specification rather than a measurement of any individual firearm.