Directory / FN America / 9x19mm Parabellum / 509 / 509
Entry 58 of 70Submit a correction
handgun

FN America 509

FN America lists the 509 as a striker-fired 9 mm pistol with a 4 in cold hammer-forged stainless barrel, a polymer frame with replaceable steel rails and interchangeable backstraps, fully ambidextrous controls, fixed 3-dot luminescent sights, and a 17-round magazine.

Scope note: SKU 66-100002, the black non-manual-safety FN 509 shipping two 17-round magazines.
Show the full noteHide the full note

THE FIRST RECORD TO USE THE TRIGGER-PULL RANGE SHAPE, which was built and unit-tested on 2026-08-12 and had never been exercised by real published data — FN publishes "Trigger Pull: 5.5 - 7.7 lb.", and both ends convert under the same rule so the range gains no false precision. THE SPEC BLOCK ON THIS PAGE ALMOST GOT ATTRIBUTED TO A DIFFERENT PISTOL. FN puts its Related Products carousel immediately before the specification panel in the DOM, so a flat text read of the page returns "...Related Products FN 509 Tactical FN 509 Midsize Specs Caliber: 9mm...", which reads exactly like the Midsize's block and is not — the CZ Shadow 2 trap, where a page carrying several products hands over a confident, well-formed spec sheet belonging to the wrong one. It was resolved the way the CZ and SIG grids were: by finding values that MUST differ between siblings and checking they land correctly. The FN 509 and FN 509 Midsize pages agree on barrel length, overall length, width, twist rate, trigger pull and sight radius, and differ on exactly three rows — magazine capacity (10 or 17 against 10 or 15), weight (26.9 oz against 26.5 oz) and height (5.56 in against 5.2 in). The block recorded here carries the full-size figures, so it belongs to this page. `execution/extract_fn_specs.py` now anchors on FN's `product-specs` panel and prints the carousel's names separately, so the neighbours are visible rather than invisible. TRIGGER ACTION IS RECORDED AS DAO, AND THE EVIDENCE IS FN'S OWN VOCABULARY RATHER THAN THIS PISTOL'S MECHANISM. FN publishes "Operation: Double-action" and repeats "Double-action operation" in its feature list, and never writes "only" — which on its own would leave the row unset, exactly as the Ruger LCR's "Double-Action" does. What settles it is that FN's catalogue uses a two-value vocabulary: its hammer-fired FNX-45 Tactical publishes "Operation: Double-action/Single-action" and carries TWO trigger-pull ranges (8.8–12.1 lb and 3.96–5.06 lb), while the 509 publishes the plain term and one range. In a contrast set of exactly those two terms, the plain one is the not-DA/SA value, and the single published range independently confirms a single trigger mode. NOTE THE DELIBERATE DIFFERENCE FROM THE RUGER LCR, WHICH LEAVES THE SAME WORD UNNORMALIZED: Ruger uses "Double-Action" as a catalogue shelf spanning DAO and DA/SA revolvers alike, so the word genuinely covers both directory values there; FN uses it in opposition to a term it prints elsewhere. Same word, opposite outcome, and the deciding evidence is the maker's other pages rather than the pistol's parts. Ignition is striker-fired on FN's own statement — "Striker-fired autoloader" in the Primary Features list, and the launch release calls it "an all-new 9mm striker-fired pistol" — so the mechanism is recorded on its own axis rather than used to argue about the trigger, the TaurusTX 22 handling. Operating system is unset: "autoloader" is a firearm class, not one of this directory's cycling values, and FN states nothing further. ONE PAGE, SEVEN PISTOL SKUs, AND ONE OF THEM CONTRADICTS THE PANEL. FN's PRODUCT DESIGNATION table lists 66-100002 and 66-100003 (black, 2×17 and 2×10), 66-100489 and 66-100490 (FDE), two law-enforcement night-sight configurations, and 66-100241, "FN 509 NMS 4.25" — a 4.25 in barrel configuration sitting on a page whose specification panel says 4.0 in. Its dimensions are not published here and the panel's figures must not be carried onto it; this is the Ruger LCP MAX rule, and the first time the conflicting SKU announces itself in its own name. All are separate listings under the base-model rule, as are the 509 Tactical, Midsize, Compact, LS Edge, CC Edge and MRD models. CAPACITY FOLLOWS THE SPECIFICATION PANEL, NOT THE CATALOGUE TABLE. The panel reads "Mag Capacity: 10 or 17 Rd." and designates neither as standard; this record is keyed to the 2×17 SKU, so 17 is recorded as standard and 10 as the optional figure FN also publishes. The same designation table separately lists a 24-round magazine part (20-100032-3, "FN 509 9mm Mag 24RD"), and it is NOT recorded: a parts table and a specification panel on one page are two sources, and the panel governs the capacity row — the CZ P-10 C rule about a features block versus a spec table, applied to a catalogue listing. FN's "SHIPS WITH" section says "Two 17-round magazines or Two 10-round", which is why the SKU rather than the panel decides what this record covers. Weight is published bare as "26.9 oz." with no mention of a magazine, so it sits in weightUnloaded with that recorded; overall height carries the same basis note. Frame class is unset: FN publishes no size class for this pistol. Worth naming the near-miss, because it is quotable and wrong — the launch release quotes FN's CEO describing "the U.S. Army's solicitation for a new, full-size pistol", which classifies the Army's requirement rather than the 509, the seventh instance of the substring trap. Year introduced is 2017, from FN's own launch release dated 2017-04-17, which announces "the launch of the FN 509". Warranty is unrecorded: FN publishes no terms reachable here. Its FAQ mentions a warranty three times and every one is an exclusion or a procedure — reloaded ammunition voids it, aftermarket accessories may void it, and no registration is required — which states what can end the warranty without ever stating what it is, the Springfield Hellcat call. FN's robots.txt disallows `*.pdf$`, so its owner's manuals are out of scope for this project's fetching and anything they alone would settle stays unrecorded. FN publishes imperial only, so every metric value here is converted by this directory and flagged. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 1:10 right-hand twist, a 5.79 in sight radius, a cold hammer-forged stainless barrel with a recessed target crown, a polymer frame with replaceable steel rails and a MIL-STD-1913 rail, interchangeable backstraps, fixed 3-dot luminescent sights with a tritium night-sight option restricted to law enforcement, and the $639.00 MSRP.

Reference fields

ManufacturerFN America[1]
Manufacturer series509
Firearm categoryHandgun[1]
Manufacturer chambering9mm[1]
GenerationNot yet verified
Manufacturer listingListed on FN America as SKU 66-100002, "FN 509 NMS BLK/BLK DS 2X17", UPC 845737008079 — one of seven pistol catalogue numbers on a page carrying a single specification panel[1]
IgnitionStriker-fired[1]
Trigger actionDouble-action only[1]
Slide finishNot yet verified
ControlsFixed 3-dot luminescent sights; fully ambidextrous slide stop lever and magazine release; external extractor with a loaded chamber indicator; interchangeable backstraps and a MIL-STD-1913 accessory rail[1]
WarrantyNot yet verified
MSRPNot recorded
Verification boundary: Published technical data are rounded, may not reflect manufacturing tolerances, and may change without notice. MSRP is not recorded: most cited product pages do publish a price, but it changes without notice and independently of the specification, so this directory has no field for it and the row stays blank rather than carrying a figure that would silently go stale. Values marked ≈ were converted by this directory from the unit system the source published; the unmarked figure in the same row is the published one.
Evidence tiers backing this record: Manufacturer. Unmarked values come from manufacturer documentation; any value drawn from a lower tier is labeled inline with that tier. Where two sources disagreed, the higher tier was recorded and the disagreement noted.

Sources

  1. [1]Accessed 2026-08-13
  2. [2]Accessed 2026-08-13

Common questions

Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.

01What caliber is the FN America 509?

The FN America 509 is chambered in 9x19mm Parabellum. FN America writes it as 9mm. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.

02How many rounds does the FN America 509 hold?

FN America lists a 17-round standard magazine for the 509. FN America also lists 10-round capacity as optional. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.

03What is the barrel length of the FN America 509?

FN America lists a barrel length of ≈101.6 mm / 4 in.

04What are the dimensions of the FN America 509?

FN America publishes ≈188 × 34.3 × 141.2 mm / 7.4 × 1.35 × 5.56 in (height: magazine state not stated by FN). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.

05How much does the FN America 509 weigh?

FN America publishes ≈763 g / 26.9 oz (magazine state not stated by FN).

06Is the FN America 509 striker-fired?

Striker-fired. FN America publishes this as "Double-action". This is recorded from the manufacturer's own classification rather than inferred from the mechanism.

07What is the trigger pull on the FN America 509?

FN America lists ≈24.5–34.3 N / 5.5–7.7 lb. A published figure is a specification rather than a measurement of any individual firearm.

08When was the FN America 509 introduced?

2017, per the source cited on this record. Where a manufacturer publishes no dated announcement, this directory records no year rather than estimating one.

Source conflictThis record’s sources disagree, and it is on the register: A 4.25 in SKU on a page whose spec panel says 4.0 in. Nothing was repaired to resolve it — see the entry for what the sources publish and what this record does with it.