Directory / Beretta / 9x19mm Parabellum / 92 Series / M9
Entry 89 of 100Submit a correction
handgun

Beretta M9

Beretta lists the commercial M9 as a 9 mm member of its 92 series with an external hammer and a double/single-action trigger, a 125 mm barrel, an ambidextrous safety-decocker, military-style markings, an M9-prefixed serial number, dot-and-post sights and a 15-round magazine.

Scope note: Model code J92M9A0M, "M9", 9mm, 15 rounds, UPC 082442816371 — the commercial M9, which Beretta USA has listed under this same code on every page checked from 2010 to 2026.
Show the full noteHide the full note

The 10-round J92M9A0 and California J92M9A0CA are separate listings, as are the M9A1, M9A3, M9A4 and the .22 LR M9-22 (J90A1M9F18/19, which the current page groups under the same "M9" heading). KEPT SEPARATE FROM THE beretta-92fs RECORD, AND NOTHING WAS CARRIED FROM IT. Beretta itself distinguishes the two — "What sets it apart from the 92FS is: distinctive military style markings... unique M9-prefixed serial number... 'Dot-and-Post' sight system" — and every value here comes from a Beretta document that names the M9. THE SPECIFICATIONS COME FROM THE PREVIOUS beretta.com M9 PAGE (captured 2023-09-11), which publishes both unit systems, so nothing is converted, and they are CROSS-VALIDATED BY A SECOND, INDEPENDENT BERETTA DOCUMENT: the 2011 Beretta USA "Pistols & Tactical Products" catalogue, linked as a download from Beretta's own M9 listing, whose p. 26 row for M9 / J92M9A0M gives 8.5 in length, 5.4 in height, 4.9 in barrel, 1.5 in width, 1.3 in grip width, 6.1 in sight radius, 33.3 oz unloaded, 15 rounds and "Dbl/Sngl" — agreeing value for value with the 2023 page twelve years later. That table is printed rotated, so its column mapping was checked by coordinate: every dimension, the weight and the action sit at x = 450, the midpoint between the J92M9A0M (x = 444) and J92M9A0 (x = 457) rows, which is a cell spanning both, while the capacities sit at 444 (15) and 457 (10) — the Glock manual span lesson on a third brand. A DISCLOSURE THE SEPARATION RULE REQUIRES: BERETTA ITSELF PUBLISHES ONE SPECIFICATION ENTRY FOR TWO MODELS. The 2023 page's technical block is keyed "92fsm9" in its markup, and Beretta's 2011 "92 Series" brochure prints a single "92FS/M9" spec column. So the maker regards these dimensions as shared; the record takes them because Beretta publishes them under the M9's name, not because they were read across from the 92FS. And they are NOT the figures on the beretta-92fs record, which come from Beretta's 2014 92 Series user manual: that record has 217 mm and 975 g / 34.4 oz, where Beretta's own 92FS/M9 entry gives 216 mm and 944 g / 33.3 oz (the 2011 brochure assigns 34.4 oz to the 92A1/96A1 column instead). That is a same-tier conflict on the 92FS record, reported for review there and not resolved here. IGNITION COMES FROM THE 2011 92 SERIES BROCHURE, whose "Common Features" — stated for a series it lists as "92 FS, M9, M9A1, 92A1/96A1" — include "External Hammer Design... this design provides the energy to the firing pin", which is the ignition mechanism on its own axis; the catalogue's M9 page repeats "External Hammer Design" as a callout. The 2023 page never mentions the hammer. `triggerAction` is `da/sa` from the page's "Action: Single/Double", which `system` quotes; its model table and the catalogue say "Dbl/Sngl". OPERATING SYSTEM IS UNSET, FOR THE SAME REASON THE 92FS RECORD REFUSED THE SAME SENTENCE: the brochure says the 92 series "operates on a short recoil, delayed blowback system", which is not a coherent single classification, and the 92FS record's resolving source — the 92 Series user manual — lists no M9 column, so borrowing its operation row would be exactly the transplant this record must not make. WEIGHT AND HEIGHT BASIS: Beretta heads the weight "Weight unloaded" in both documents and says nothing about a magazine, so it sits in `weightUnloaded`; the height's magazine state is likewise unstated. CAPACITY: 15 standard for J92M9A0M; 10 is the other column of the same technical table and the second M9 row of the catalogue. Frame class is unset: the 2013 Beretta USA listing files the M9 under a "Full Size" navigation category, which is site chrome rather than a size class (the Ruger "Compact" rule), and no Beretta name for this model carries a size word. Slide finish is unset: the page says "Its Bruniton finish" of the pistol as a whole. CURRENCY: the current beretta.com page (captured 2026-06-08) still lists J92M9A0M, but its technical sheet is client-rendered and absent from the capture, and beretta.com's product pages serve an Imperva/Incapsula challenge to direct requests (re-checked 2026-09-30), so the values are as-published in 2023 and 2011. Year introduced is unrecorded: the 1985 US Army contract dates the military M9, not the commercial model. Warranty and trigger pull are unrecorded — no reachable Beretta source publishes them. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 155 mm / 6.1 in sight radius, a 1.3 in grip width, military-style markings, an M9-prefixed serial number, a dot-and-post sight system, a reversible magazine release, an ambidextrous safety-decocker, a disassembly latch, a combat trigger guard, and the $789 MSRP at the 2023 capture ($819 on the current page, $650 in the 2011 catalogue).

Reference fields

ManufacturerBeretta[1]
Manufacturer series92 Series
Firearm categoryHandgun[1]
Manufacturer chambering9x19 (PARA)[1]
GenerationNot yet verified
Manufacturer listingListed by Beretta USA as model code J92M9A0M, "M9", 9mm, 15 rounds, UPC 082442816371 (read via Web Archive; the live site serves a bot challenge)[1]
IgnitionHammer-fired[3]
Trigger actionDouble-action / single-action[1]
Slide finishNot yet verified
ControlsAmbidextrous safety-decocker; reversible magazine release; tool-free disassembly latch[1]
WarrantyNot yet verified
MSRPNot recorded
Verification boundary: Published technical data are rounded, may not reflect manufacturing tolerances, and may change without notice. MSRP is not recorded: most cited product pages do publish a price, but it changes without notice and independently of the specification, so this directory has no field for it and the row stays blank rather than carrying a figure that would silently go stale.
Evidence tiers backing this record: Manufacturer. Unmarked values come from manufacturer documentation; any value drawn from a lower tier is labeled inline with that tier. Where two sources disagreed, the higher tier was recorded and the disagreement noted.

Sources

  1. [1]Accessed 2026-09-30 · Captured 2023-09-11 from https://www.beretta.com/en-us/m9/
  2. [2]Accessed 2026-09-30 · Captured 2013-11-13 from http://www.berettausa.com/file.aspx?DocumentId=68
  3. [3]Accessed 2026-09-30 · Captured 2013-08-03 from http://www.berettausa.com/file.aspx?DocumentId=67
  4. [4]Accessed 2026-09-30 · Captured 2026-06-08 from https://www.beretta.com/en-us/product/m9-FA0057

Common questions

Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.

01What caliber is the Beretta M9?

The Beretta M9 is chambered in 9x19mm Parabellum. Beretta writes it as 9x19 (PARA). Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.

02How many rounds does the Beretta M9 hold?

Beretta lists a 15-round standard magazine for the M9. Beretta also lists 10-round capacity as optional. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.

03What is the barrel length of the Beretta M9?

Beretta lists a barrel length of 125 mm / 4.9 in.

04What are the dimensions of the Beretta M9?

Beretta publishes 216 × 38 × 137 mm / 8.5 × 1.5 × 5.4 in (height: magazine state not stated by Beretta). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.

05How much does the Beretta M9 weigh?

Beretta publishes 944 g / 33.3 oz (Beretta's heading "Weight unloaded"; magazine state not stated).

06Is the Beretta M9 striker-fired?

Hammer-fired. Beretta publishes this as "Single/Double". This is recorded from the manufacturer's own classification rather than inferred from the mechanism.