Beretta 92FS
Beretta lists the 92FS as a semi-automatic 9 mm Parabellum pistol working on short barrel recoil with a falling-block lock, an exposed hammer and a double/single-action trigger, with a 125 mm barrel, an open-top slide and a 15-round magazine.
Show the full noteHide the full note
A TRAP WORTH KNOWING BEFORE TRUSTING ANY ARCHIVED PAGE: the Web Archive's capture of beretta.com/en-us/92fs/ is ITSELF the challenge page — 2,554 bytes of Incapsula script — so an archived URL returning HTTP 200 can be a captured interstitial rather than captured content. Check what the capture contains, not that it exists. The specifications here come from Beretta's own 92 Series user manual, captured 2014-12-22 from beretta.com's asset path, and the model's features from Beretta USA's own product listing for stock number J92F300M, captured 2012-03-09. BOTH ARE AS PUBLISHED AT CAPTURE TIME AND MAY NOT BE CURRENT; the 92FS has been in continuous production since the 1980s, but re-verify if Beretta's site ever becomes reachable. THE COLUMN MAPPING WAS VERIFIED BY COORDINATE, NOT BY READING ORDER, because the manual's technical table sets four model columns side by side and text extraction returns all seven row labels before all twenty-eight values. Headers sit at x = 586, 643, 700 and 757, and their value columns at x = 577, 634, 691 and 748 — a uniform 9 pt offset across all four — which puts the 92 FS in column one unambiguously. Two independent cross-checks agree: the fourth column, the single-stack "Type M", carries a capacity of 8, and the Compact is lighter than the Centurion, which is what their frames predict. This is the Glock manual lesson applied to a second brand. THE CAPACITY CELL IS NOT A SINGLE NUMBER: Beretta groups the 92 FS, 98 FS and 96 in one column and prints "15-10 (96)", meaning 15 rounds for the 9 mm models and 10 for the .40 S&W Model 96. This record takes 15; the 2012 listing separately says 92-family magazines run from 10 to 20 rounds in 9 mm, which describes the accessory range rather than what the pistol ships with. TWO MANUFACTURER SOURCES DISAGREE ON THE OPERATING SYSTEM, AND THE LOOSER ONE LOSES: the manual states "OPERATION: Semi-automatic, short recoil of barrel" with "LOCKING SYSTEM: Falling block", and its prose repeats that the series functions "on the short barrel recoil principle and using a falling block locking system"; the 2012 marketing listing calls it "a short recoil, delayed blowback system", which is not a coherent single classification — a pistol is not both recoil-operated and blowback. The manual governs and the listing's wording is disclosed. All three action axes come from that one manual page, which makes this the first record where a single source publishes every one: "HAMMER: Exposed hammer" gives the ignition, "ACTION: Double and single action" gives the trigger action, and the operation row gives the operating system. Note what this record does NOT do: Beretta publishes no trigger pull anywhere in the manual, so the DA/SA trigger-pull pair the directive queued the 92FS to exercise is untouched here — the CZ Shadow 2 had already exercised it. Manufacturer size class and directory frame class are both unset. Beretta publishes no size label for the base 92FS; its table distinguishes the Compact, Centurion and Type M by model name, and concluding "full-size" from the existence of a Compact would be classifying a pistol by inference, which the G44 and RXM records forbid. Warranty is unrecorded: the manual mentions only an exclusion — it "does not cover the use of reloaded and/or hand loaded ammunition" — and never states the terms, while Beretta's warranty page sits behind the challenge. Omitting is the Ruger handling; asserting a policy from an exclusion clause would be worse. Year introduced is unrecorded: the listing invokes the 1984 US Army competition and the M9 designation, which date the M9 contract award rather than the 92FS's own introduction, and a model named in a competition is not a model launched by it. Slide finish is unrecorded, and the reason is attribution rather than absence: the manual attributes Bruniton coating specifically to the REAR SIGHT and says the frame is anodized grey, while the 2012 listing describes Bruniton as the pistol's non-reflective black finish generally — recording either under the other's footnote would misattribute it. Beretta publishes both unit systems, so nothing on this record is converted. Separate listings under the base-model rule: the 92FS Inox, Compact, Centurion, Compact Type M, 92A1, 92X, the De Luxe, Centennial and Fusion editions, and the military M9. No Beretta extractor was written and none should be: there is no fetchable Beretta HTML to extract, so the path is the Web Archive plus execution/extract_pdf_text.py, and a brand extractor that cannot reach its brand would be dead code. Also published and unrecorded for want of a schema field: a 155 mm / 6.1 in sight radius, right-hand rifling with 6 grooves at a 250 mm / 9.8 in pitch, a chrome-lined barrel with a recessed target crown, and a light-alloy anodized frame.
Reference fields
| Manufacturer | Beretta[1] |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer series | 92 Series |
| Firearm category | Handgun[1] |
| Manufacturer chambering | 9 mm Parabellum[1] |
| Generation | Not yet verified |
| Manufacturer listing | Listed by Beretta USA as stock number J92F300M (read via Web Archive; the live site serves a bot challenge)[1] |
| Ignition | Hammer-fired[1] |
| Trigger action | Double-action / single-action[1] |
| Operating system | Recoil-operated[1] |
| Slide finish | Not yet verified |
| Controls | Ambidextrous manual safety that also decocks, lowering a cocked hammer and separating the firing pin from it; automatic firing pin safety; blade front sight integral with the slide and a notched-bar rear sight dovetailed to the slide[1] |
| Warranty | Not yet verified |
| MSRP | Not recorded |
Sources
- [1]Beretta 92 Series User Manual — Technical Features and Data (p. 5, the 92 FS / 98 FS / 96 column)Manufacturer Manufacturer owner's manual (PDF) · Web Archive captureAccessed 2026-08-12 · Captured 2014-12-22 from http://www.beretta.com/assets/12/29/Beretta_92_Series_User_Manual.pdf
- [2]Beretta 92 FS (Made in USA), stock number J92F300M — Beretta USA product listing (cited for the US catalogue entry and the "short recoil, delayed blowback" wording this record does not follow)Manufacturer Manufacturer product page (retired site) · Web Archive captureAccessed 2026-08-12 · Captured 2012-03-09 from http://www.berettausa.com/products/92fs-9mm-3dot-plastic-2-15rd-use-js92f300m-
Common questions
Answered from this record's cited fields only. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing on a subject, the question is not asked rather than answered with a blank.
01What caliber is the Beretta 92FS?
The Beretta 92FS is chambered in 9x19mm Parabellum. Beretta writes it as 9 mm Parabellum. Ammunition should match the exact chambering marked on the firearm.
02How many rounds does the Beretta 92FS hold?
Beretta lists a 15-round standard magazine for the 92FS. Beretta lists no optional capacities for this record. These are magazine capacities; a round carried in the chamber is not counted here.
03What is the barrel length of the Beretta 92FS?
Beretta lists a barrel length of 125 mm / 4.9 in.
04What are the dimensions of the Beretta 92FS?
Beretta publishes 217 × 38 × 137 mm / 8.5 × 1.5 × 5.4 in (height: magazine state not stated by Beretta). Any measurement basis shown is the manufacturer's own qualifier; where none is shown, the manufacturer states none.
05How much does the Beretta 92FS weigh?
Beretta publishes 975 g / 34.4 oz (unloaded and approximate, per Beretta's "(approx.)" qualifier; magazine state not stated).
06Is the Beretta 92FS striker-fired?
Hammer-fired. Beretta publishes this as "Double and single action". This is recorded from the manufacturer's own classification rather than inferred from the mechanism.